Log in Join now
Dank Tank Mean Joe Bean - Sweetwater Brewing Company

Dank Tank Mean Joe Bean

Overall: 8.8/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 8.6/10

Trend: 8.8/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Porter

ABV: 8.50%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

357 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.4/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Amber Brown
  • A: Deep amber with a faint tint of ruby, then a precious stone like shine. Delicate bubbles in dark tan.

    S: Brown sugar, little coffee.

    T: None of the sweetness suggested in the nose. And then the next surprise is the dryness. Dark fruit but not typical sweet profile. Thick mouthfeel is balanced by the small bubble carbonation. There a kind of bitterness but I couldn't nail the potential sources.

    O: Like this brew. Not a typical Porter in any way, but I'm know that's where the brewers were headed. My fav part is the balanced of the dryness, low sweetness, and complex background flavor notes. Makes me want to find more beers from this place.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 21:32:20
  • Tasted: July 28, 2011 by rich
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.1/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • Color: Black
  • Pours a deep black color with a tan creamy colored head. Very little retention which I would expect from this style. Spotty lacing.

    Aroma is rich in coffee and roasted malts. I am get a bit of alcohol coming out in the aroma.

    Taste is also rich in coffee and roasted malts. Sweet, milky and smooth. Lots of warming alcohol on this beer, but not in a unpleasant way.

    Big body with a creamy mouth feel. Low in carbonation.

    Overall a great stout. Nice well balanced beer with great flavors. This is a keeper!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 21:26:02
  • Tasted: July 28, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.8/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Black
  • Pours opaque with an inch of inviting brown foam. Retention is average at best. Lacing sheets the glass with most slipping back to level, leaving some dots of brown.

    Aroma gives roasted malt with some coffee as should be expected. Let it warm for the coffee to really start coming out. Alcohol comes through when it warms.

    Taste is sweet up front with roasted malts coming in the middle and going into the end. Coffee starts late, pleasantly, staying for a while. Roast finishes with the coffee.

    Medium body with the same amount of carbonation. Maybe a bit much for the style but doesn't distract too much.

    Haven't had a dank tank beer in a while, sadly. A well balanced beer that adds coffee for complexity not to take over the beer. Well done. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 21:09:00
  • Tasted: July 28, 2011 by scot
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle