Log in Join now
Bam Biére - Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ales

Bam Biére

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.7/10 by 1 dude

Dudes: 8.7/10

Trend: 8.7/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Saison

ABV: 4.50%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

1,150 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.7/10 have another
  • A: 8.9 | T: 8.8 | L: 9.2 | M: 7.3 | O: 8.6
  • Color: Straw
  • No date on bottle.

    Pours amazingly clear with an inch of pure white foam lid. Medium retention with some lacing.

    Lemon citrus is foremost. Pear/green apple take over with more of a green apple nose as sits. Tartness evolves. Floral hops.

    Taste gets some funk: hay and barnyard mix with the tart. Tart apple and lemon are there throughout. Floral hops mix with yeast in the finish.

    Light end of medium carbonation and body. Bubbles are small. Dries.

    Definitely have had a few more of this style of beer in the last nine years. A solid beer. Better than I remember. Refreshing and crisp. Enjoy!

    When I reviewed this beer 9 years ago, it only cost $6.99. Seems like a big price raise for a brewery that already has higher cost overall for their products.
  • Reviewed: Saturday, March 24, 2018 at 21:05:30
  • Tasted: Saturday, March 24, 2018
  • $8.99 for 750 ml bottle
  • 7/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • Color: Straw
  • Pours a little hazy (maybe because of temperature) with four fingers of white fluffy foam. A fair amount of retention with a little bit of lacing. Tons of floaties when I finished the bottle into the glass.

    This is a very earthy beer: big earth. Aroma also has quite a bit of wheat with some clove, pepper, and citrus.

    Wheat, pepper, and clove are the first flavors that hit my palate. As I relax and wait for another taste, I find it finishing dry with sour.

    There is some funkiness to the both the aroma and flavor. Medium carbonation and body.

    I am a noob to this style and trying to figure out the idiosyncrasies of it. I need to imbibe a few more times and make my own assumptions before I feel I am ready to really give out quality advice. So, yes, I would have this again not out of curiosity but because I enjoyed the beer. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Monday, July 27, 2009 at 22:00:17
  • Tasted: Monday, July 27, 2009
  • $6.99 for 24 oz. bottle