Log in Join now
Exponential Hoppiness - Alpine Beer Company

Exponential Hoppiness

Overall: 10.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 10.0/10

Trend: 10.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 11.00%

Season: August

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

1,133 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.9/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 9 | M: 10 | O: 10
  • Color: Deep Gold
  • Pours clear with a half inch of white foam. Retention isn't the strong suit. Light lacing but thick when it sticks.

    Aroma is ginormous with grapefruit hops. Mango with other fruits come on loud and clear. Light caramel sweetness forms the backbone while a touch of alcohol is there.

    Taste is a little sweet but not much. Hops are mango, grapefruit, and tropical fruits that are part of the entire drink. Very slight bitterness that is fruity but doesn't linger. Mango and grapefruit hold on to the palate.

    Medium body with a light carbonation. Carbonation really isn't needed as the beer has plenty going on. Dries the palate.

    Holy shit is that balanced. I thought this beer was going to be off the charts over the top. Instead it drinks unbelievably well without and unrefined edges. Awesome. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 18, 2011 at 21:50:59
  • Tasted: August 18, 2011 by scot
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
354 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 10.0/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 10 | M: 10 | O: 10
  • Color: Deep Gold
  • A: Name says it all Deep Gold thats bright with a faint haze. The very soft, off-white foam is more of an accent.

    S: A tropical, citrus rush. The most crisp and clear aroma I've face in a long time. Nothing muddles the focus of this aroma.

    T: Fruit, fire, and flavor in a semi-sweet and slightly drying melt. It's a big brew, but opens loud but then gets subtle. Just when think it's over the top, other parts put all the pieces together. Not cloying, not over alcohol, not overly malt sweet. I really like the citrus smell and taste, like eating at a Florida citrus orchard breakfest bar, with the notes of sweet grapefruit lingering in the back of the mouth.

    O: Maybe my case is worship from far, as it's hard to get this So-SoCal brewer's wares all the way to Chicago. But all the effort is worth it. I've never had an Alpine beer that wasn't the top of it's group (style or peers, or whatever). It's A rating in BA is deserved. And it challenges local hero, Bells Hopslam in the category, which says loads. I've got to visit this brewery.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 18, 2011 at 21:49:49
  • Tasted: August 18, 2011 by rich
  • $0.00 for 24 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • A complex hopping method where each hop addition is double the previous amount. More hops in the hopback and then two dry-hop sessions. The second dry-hop session is with whole hops and oak chips.
Beer Swapping