Log in Join now
Chief Blackhawk Porter - Tyranena Brewing Company

Chief Blackhawk Porter

Overall: 9.0/10 by 2 dudes

Dudes: 9.0/10

Trend: 9.0/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Porter

ABV: 5.60%

IBU: 35

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Black
  • Pours black with a hint of ruby redness when held up to the light. Very little head shows on the pour with a thin ring of tan foaming around the edges of the glass. Some spotty watery lacing is present.

    Aroma is big and bold, sweet and creamy. Sweet malts, chocolate, and mild coffee are the aromas that I am getting as well as a sweetness that reminds me of fresh honey. Very pleasant and inviting aromas.

    Taste is right on the money! Sweet malts blend into a milk chocolate with a mild coffee and finishes with a sweet honey flavor. A very rich creamy blend of flavors! A hint of bitterness shows on the finish as the beer warms in the glass.

    Medium body with medium carbonation. Milky and creamy on the palate, but maintains a watery quality that makes this beer an easy drinker.

    Overall a solid porter with rich inviting flavors. Well balanced and very drinkable with a perfect mouthfeel. This is a must try porter that is on my list of favorites!
  • Reviewed: Friday, December 23, 2011 at 00:31:42
  • Tasted: December 22, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $1.69 for 12 oz. bottle
1,142 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.0/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color: Black
  • Poured with a light brown, two-finger foam. Some retention that dwindled down to a thin film on top of my beer. Lacing was there but not that much.

    The aroma is of malt, chocolate, and coffee. Actually a really nice aroma that is pleasant on the nose and makes you want to see if the taste is just as pleasing.

    The aroma doesn't let the taste down. The taste starts off with the malt, followed by a some smooth chocolate, while ending with some coffee and bitterness. Note: a little warmer and there is almost no hint of bitterness.

    Has a fair amount of carbonation and a big body taste but this doesn't take away from the drinkability. The bitterness is on the slight side so this doesn't hinder the palate either.

    I had this a couple of times while on my brewery hop up to south-central Wisconsin. I have to say that this is a really easy drinking porter that I can enjoy over and over again. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, July 28, 2009 at 21:08:40
  • Tasted: July 28, 2009 by scot
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle