Log in Join now
Batch 300 - The Bruery

Batch 300

Overall: 8.1/10 by 3 dudes

Dudes: 8.0/10

Trend: 8.1/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Belgian Tripel

ABV: 8.20%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 7.7/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 8 | L: 8 | M: 7 | O: 7
  • Color: Pale Gold
  • A: Pale gold, ever so slight haze with white medium foam.

    S: Very unique flavors, oak and citrus. It's a tripel, so I'm thinking there's some yeasty notes in the background. More than any beer I've had lately, the aroma is a tease that spurs my curiousity to find out what it tastes like.

    T: Muted sweetness, citrus, spice, and a touch of breadiness. A tad dry but not bitter at all. Medium mouthfeel, aligns well with big carbonation. Really drinkable for the style.

    O: The strength of this brew to me, is how difficult it is to fiqure out what are all the taste elements. Don't get me wrong, it's a well made beer. The Citra hops aged in oak barrells give this brew a totally unique twist. I've
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 17, 2011 at 21:51:58
  • Tasted: November 17, 2011 by rich
  • $12.99 for 750 ml bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 8.3/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 8 | L: 9 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Pale Gold
  • Pours clear with a half inch of large bubbled foam that doesn't have much staying power. Lacing is thin and sporadic lines.

    Aroma is interesting and somewhat difficult to explain. Orange, tropical aromas leap from the glass while oak and dampened vanilla follow. Finally some Belgian yeast finds it way.

    Taste isn't as complex as the aroma. Slighty sweet but doesn't last. Green grapes with other citrus and tropical fruits in the finish. A spice note shows up in the finish.

    Medium body with a fine but medium or better carbonation that tingle the tip of the tongue. Oak dries.

    This is one interesting beer that has a lot going on. The American hops add a nice twist to this Belgian. Alcohol is well hidden.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 17, 2011 at 21:41:50
  • Tasted: November 17, 2011 by scot
  • $12.99 for 750 ml bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 8.2/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 8 | L: 8 | M: 8 | O: 8
  • Color: Pale Gold
  • Pours a cloudy pale straw color with a thin white head that dissipates quickly leaving a thin layer of white suds floating on top. Light watery lacing that spots the glass.

    Aroma is different, but pleasing. A mixture of citrus that reminds me of nectarine, some yeast and a light vanilla with a bit of oak.

    Taste is not as complex and interesting as the aroma. I am getting yeast and bready type flavors that quickly works into a pleasant sweet citrus. Smooth a creamy with a zesty spice in the finish.

    Medium body with medium to high carbonation.

    Overall a very nice beer. Nice flavors that are well balanced and has a nice level of complexity that keeps it interesting and fun. Definitely and fun creative beer that is worth a try!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 17, 2011 at 21:37:46
  • Tasted: November 17, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $12.99 for 750 ml bottle