Log in Join now
Sole Composition - Barrel Aged Seven with Brett - Upright Brewing Company

Sole Composition - Barrel Aged Seven with Brett

Overall: 9.3/10 by 4 dudes

Dudes: 9.0/10

Trend: 9.3/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Saison

ABV: 8.80%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

Add a Beer Review

355 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 8.4/10 have another
  • A: 8 | T: 8 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Deep gold
  • A: Deep golden with slight haze, with a soft, off -white foam.

    S: An appropriate farmhouse funk, with white grapes in the background. Seem appealing.

    T : Lot's of variety Of flavors. A nice Bret sourness and then a appealing lemony citrus. The mouthfeel gets very dry in the end. Right mouthfeel, it's full but not over the level it should be. Lots of carbonation and I like it....seems appropriate.

    O: I'm ot the beast judge of this style, so I'll make only some general remarks. The first sips didn't reveal the depth of Brett tartness I would have expected. I love the citrus notes, they left a very satisfying aftertaste. The alcohol is not very pronounced, more of a warmth than burn. Apparently very rare, only 43 of 120 bottles.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 29, 2011 at 23:02:16
  • Tasted: December 29, 2011 by rich
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
1,141 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.6/10 have another
  • A: 10 | T: 10 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: Gold
  • Bottle number 43 of 120.

    Pours clear with a ton of micro-floaties. A nice fluffy, white foam covers the top. Retention is average if not better leaving behind a thin, sticky lacing. Effervescent.

    Aroma can find green grapes, oak, and farmhouse welcoming the sense. Pepper, pear, and floral are side notes that add to the huge complexity of the nose. Possibly a touch alcohol on the hind end.

    Taste is very interesting and complex. The finish is stunning: warmth mixing with with subtleties of pear, green grape, tartness, and late coming oak. Earlier in the taste a slight sweetness comes and goes quickly with hay and barn flavors enveloping.

    Light end of medium body with a spritzy carbonation that hits the back of the tongue with small bubbles, drying the palate.

    This is a solid beer. Very complex and balanced with each intricacy serving its time in the front of the profile. Really nice. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 29, 2011 at 22:57:18
  • Tasted: December 29, 2011 by scot
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.7/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 10 | L: 9 | M: 10 | O: 10
  • Color: Deep Gold
  • Bottle 43 of 120 bottled in 2011.

    Pours a deep golden color with a white frothy head that settles quickly leaving a thin swirl of creamy foam floating on top.

    Aroma is very inviting. I am getting a white grape with yeast and a bit of floral and oak, slightly sour or tart.

    Taste very similar to the aroma. Big white grape flavors mingle with a light yeast and finishes with a tart citrus and floral oak flavor. This beer has a tart citrus flavor on the finish that lasts on the palate.

    Medium body with medium to high carbonation. Carbonation is very zesty like a champagne. Tart and dry on the finish.

    Overall a very nice beer. A very nice level of complexity that is well balanced, refreshing and inviting. I really enjoy the tartness in this beer! This is one of the best farmhouse ales that I have had and I wish it was not so rare of a beer! Try one if you can find one! Thanks for sharing this one Scot!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 29, 2011 at 22:49:27
  • Tasted: December 29, 2011 by tikibeer
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 9.4/10 have another
  • A: 9 | T: 10 | L: 9 | M: 9 | O: 9
  • Color: 6
  • Aroma-wow. My nose is messed up and I still smell so much. "green grape" with a saison yeast. A peppery floral element. Again, with stuffed nose this is still great.
    Look, deep gold. Transparent. Clear- you can read through it. Thin lace. Tight carbonation.

    Taste. Wow. Grape and oak and complex. Hard to put into words. Pleasantly tart. Sour in the end, a unique alternative to a bitter end. Just... Wow.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 29, 2011 at 22:44:40
  • Tasted: December 29, 2011 by Retrofit
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle