Log in Join now
Cellar Door - Stillwater Artisanal Ales

Cellar Door

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.65/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.71 or 9.23%

Trend: 7.65/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Saison

ABV: 6.60%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

361 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 6.66/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 12.94% Color: Pale Gold
  • A: A hazy, straight forward pale gold. Fizzy little bubbles, of low retention, white in color.

    S: The aroma notes are subtle, first is lemony citrus, other fruits, and floral. Then a pick up a peppery spice. Even though low levels, the scents help build my interest in this brew.

    T: A very dry sweetness, then a burst of herbal flavors. Picked up, what I thought to be peppery ainse spiciness. I like the big carbonation.

    O: It's well made and very balanced. In a subtle way there's lot's of different scents and flavors coming from all over the place. Probably better aligned with summer weather. In the end my interest was piqued by this beer.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 09, 2012 at 22:05:45
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 09, 2012
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.24/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 7.71% Color: 5
  • The aroma suggests there's a lot going on. I'll get back to that.
    I think I'm noticing the Citra- which is by it's nature a sign of good things.

    Look- Gold in color, hazy, thin head with tight slightly clinging bubbles.

    Taste: Sweet and dry. Not as complicated as the aroma. Good, but disappointing compared to the aroma- but good. Back the aroma thing. I think the citra comes through in the aroma- slightly- enough to say good things coming, but I don't taste it. It's classic light spicy/fruity flavors. All good, but not as great as the aroma.

    The bottle says sage and that has my interest. I'd like to brew a heavy sage beer to grasp what that adds to a beer. I like this and would like to revisit it in the summer- the time of Saisons!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 09, 2012 at 22:02:14
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 09, 2012
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,187 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 8.06/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 5.36% Color: Pale Gold
  • Pours with a slight haze. Effervescent. A rocky white foam covers which recedes at a steady pace. Lacing is medium, sticking well to the sides. A bomb of a bottle as a good six ounces shot out.

    Aroma is pepper, herbal, sweet, phenol, and a touch of lemon. In spite of the stimulation of the offactories isn't a huge aroma bomb; subtle.

    Taste is a mix of sweet and dry. Pepper, herb, and touch of lemon mix, especially towards the end, giving a pleasant finish. Pepper lingers a bit.

    Very sharp carbonation add to the sense of a medium body.

    A bit sweeter than I would expect or want in a Saison. With that one blip out of the way, high quality and nice drinking beer. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 09, 2012 at 21:59:41
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 09, 2012
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • Over the ages the term ’cellar door’ has numerously been referred to as the most beautiful term in the English language. upon setting out to create the first summer addition to the Stateside line up of ales; the feeling that almost instantly came to me was that of beauty & cleansing. many summer offerings tend to lack the complexity of their bigger, colder season counterparts; so my goal was to craft an ale of extreme balance with a delicate complexity that allows for contemplation while also providing quaffable refreshment. starting with a base of German wheat & pale malts this crisp slightly hazy foundation was then accented with a blend of Sterling & Citra hops providing a intricate blend of herbal grass & tangerine citrus flavors and aroma. to pull this all together and to complete the ’cleansing’ aspect of my vision i gently finished the ale off with a touch of white sage, lending a mild earthy spice character to the blend. of course let’s not forget our house saison yeast that brought all the elements together leaving a dry yet intricate finish.
Beer Swapping