Log in Join now
Diesel - Sixpoint Craft Ales

Diesel

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.63/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.37 or 4.87%

Trend: 7.63/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Stout

ABV: 6.60%

IBU: 60

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 7.76/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.70% Color: 16
  • Gotta catch up the beers being reviewed tonight.

    Gotta make this quick

    Aroma: Carmel toasty notes

    Look: Carmel color, thin lace slight cling.

    Taste: Slight bitter and burnt end. Good
  • 191 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 16, 2012 at 21:16:45
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 16, 2012
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. can
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 4.85% Color: Deep Brown
  • A:Very dark brown, but can see it's clear mahogany along the edges. Medium level of Tan foam, low retention and lacing.

    S: Smells of resiny hops, with herbal notes. Malt is slightly toasted but not smoky.

    T: Very hopped stout, but not in a bad way. Starts like it'll be sweet, but quickly moves to piney dryness. The lingering bitterness is citrus not biting. Not cloying but a tad thick. The roastiness built as the beer warmed.

    O: I like this brew, but I then I am a big fan of hops. Not like any stout that I've had recently. Almost like a Cascadian IPA. But it's drinkable and tasty. The only criticism is that it is the taste slightly imblanced by the hop forwardiness.
  • 678 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 16, 2012 at 21:11:09
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 16, 2012
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. can
1,223 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.12/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 6.68% Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours almost opaque with a quarter inch of light brown foam. Retention is fleeting with light, juicy lacing here and there.

    Aroma was a surprising hit of citrus, pine, and resinous hops. Roasted malts are subdued.

    Taste is a bit sweet up front with hops building from the middle through to the end. Citrus, pine, and resinous hops just bring a punch, leaving bitterness in their wake. Roast and burnt malt flavors come late and linger. Some of the bitterness could be from the malt.

    Medium body with lighter than expected carbonation.

    This is an ode to the hop rather than the malt that I would expect in a stout. The hops cloud out the malts that should be the spotlight of this beer. I like my hops but this is too one sided. Enjoy!
  • 746 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 16, 2012 at 21:05:41
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 16, 2012
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. can