Log in Join now
We're Only In It For The Money - Lagunitas Brewing Company

We're Only In It For The Money

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.50/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.5 or 6.67%

Trend: 7.50/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Belgian Tripel

ABV: 8.20%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 6.67% Color: Amber.
  • Aroma: Fruity, spiced malt. Appealing introduction.

    1st Taste: Complex and hard to pin down a specific flavor. Very much blended and balanced.

    Overall: This beer works well for me on all levels. Smell and taste gives impression of an impending heavy experience but it finishes very subtle. It's got alcohol but faintly in the background. I believe the fruitiness is from the yeast and doesn't get carried away. Seems totally on track and in the style definition, maybe out Belgianing the Belgians. Plus, I would give extra props to Lagunitas for helping keep the alive the memory of Frank Zappa. (Who's music and genius is totally being ingnored today...by the way). Be a Mudshark, drink this ale.
  • 699 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 06, 2009 at 21:37:40
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 06, 2009
  • $6.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,236 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 6.67% Color: Gold
  • Poured slightly hazy (chill haze, but I thought I let it warm up enough) with three fingers of frothy, off-white foam. Fair amount of retention and some nice lacing.

    The aroma has some sweet malt, yeast, and some spices. There is also a hint of some fruity esters.

    The taste starts with malt and a bit of creaminess, followed by some bitterness and spice, quickly finishing with wonderful fruity esters. A little alcohol on the finish also.

    Medium carbonation and the ABV helps to give this a large body. A good representation of the style. Complex as expected.

    Not a beer to drink many over and over, mainly due to the ABV. I am sure there are better Tripels but this is one that anyone that appreciates the style would like. Enjoy!
  • 744 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 06, 2009 at 21:14:27
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 06, 2009
  • $6.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $6.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping