Log in Join now
2009 Correction Ale - Lagunitas Brewing Company

2009 Correction Ale

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 8.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 6.33%

IBU: 74

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

361 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Gold.
  • Aroma: Hit's a the style character of the rush of american hops...fruit, citrus, and a litlle floral.

    First taste: Hops are there, but surprisingly low key for a 74 IBU. A little sweet, a little malt, but finishes fairly crisp.

    Overall: It took me awhile to appreciate IPA's. The crisp, clean character of American hops help. And the Californian breweries seem to be making this style their own. I like the balance between the malt sweetness and soft hop bitterness. Also, the brew made interesting by some other flavors (piney, grapefruit, citrusy) that blend well togther. Like it, maybe even like it alot.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 06, 2009 at 22:06:31
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 06, 2009
  • $5.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,187 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Light Gold
  • Poured into my mason mug with three fingers of white, fluffy foam. Average amount of retention and some lacing.

    My nose is happy after sticking in my glass several times. Grapefruit hops and sweet malt are the big aromas from this beers. Fruity esters lightly present.

    Sweet malt starts the taste off. There is much of a middle as it quickly transitions to grapefruit hop and grapefruit bitterness to finish.

    Low to medium carbonation and smaller bodied. A crisp, easy drinking beer. Could easily have a couple more pints.

    A really good American IPA but has just a tad bit too much grapefruit bitterness for me in the end to give it a 9. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 06, 2009 at 21:59:19
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 06, 2009
  • $5.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Cost Breakdown
  • $5.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping