Log in Join now
Norse Legen Sahti - Boston Beer Company

Norse Legen Sahti

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 6.87/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.27 or 3.98%

Trend: 6.87/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Sahti

ABV: 7.00%

Season: Rotating

Have Another: 100%

113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 7.06/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 2.77% Color: 10
  • What to say?
    I typically keep to the facts, color flavor notes, a pretty dull review.
    I'm Finnish, I'm a home brewer, I've never had a Sahti, but I've made several by recipe. And I've never had a commercial version and I was looking forward to this because I wanted to compare my Sahti's to a commercial version. Specifically whatever issues the snob/craft beer fan might have with Sam Adams, Sam Adams consistently produces a "to style" beer. With that in mind, I was even more excited to try this beer because it would be "to style".

    So I think Sam Adams produced a beer that's 'to style'. What I've noticed with my own versions is, most people don't like it. What you've got is a cave man beer. Sahti is one of the oldest styles and what is it? It's a bunch of cold lonely Finnish farmers looking around their yard and wondering, "How can I get drunk?"
    So they grab some juniper branches, they grab some rye (both can grow in the tundra), they grab some cheap grain and some baker's yeast. They make alcohol with what they have and they get drunk to forget that they are in Finland. So why is this style not known throughout the world? Because it's not a great style. It's what else am I going to do in Finland. I love my people, and if I was stuck there I'd drink this to, but I don't live there so I don't drink this often. Just at Finn parties, or camping.
  • 1,408 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 16, 2012 at 21:25:39
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 16, 2012
  • $7.99 for 12 oz. bottle
367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.06/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 2.77% Color: Deep Amber
  • A: Clear deep amber with tint of red. Soft off-white foam that quickly dissipates.

    S: Berries and malt, then very slight medicinal(herbal) notes.

    T: Sweet bready malt with bitter juniper on top. Medium mouthfeel and medium carbonation levels.

    O: Not a horrible beer. But malt profile that leans to the sweet side and then mixes with the herbal flavors, and seems out of balance. And, there's a slightly elevated bitter level that adds another distraction. I agree with Chuck that the fact this style is seldom brewed, points out that it might be a product of local ingrediants in Finland, rather than a great style.
  • 619 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 16, 2012 at 21:20:45
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 16, 2012
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,270 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 6.48/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 5.68% Color: Light Brown
  • Pours clear with a quarter inch of tan foam. Retention is normal while the lacing coats a touch.

    Aroma is sweet malt with touches of berries. Can't point to one berry but a couple. As it warms bread malt start to bubble up. Alcohol begins to burn the nostrils.

    Taste is malt: sweet and bread but definitely leans towards the sweet. The middle brings a shot of alcohol and finishes with berries. Possible juniper confuse the lighter bitterness.

    Medium body with medium carbonation.

    Not my favorite style of beer and this is only my second offering. Well crafted just not something I want often. Novelty. Enjoy!
  • 622 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 16, 2012 at 21:17:05
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 16, 2012
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $7.99, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
  • $7.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Highest Rated Similar Beers