Log in Join now
Brett & I - Smuttynose Brewing Company

Brett & I

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.29/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.35 or 4.8%

Trend: 7.29/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Belgian Pale Ale

ABV: 5.90%

Season: Occasionally

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 6.94/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 4.80% Color: Deep Gold
  • A: Almost orange with haze. Super quick disapating soft white bubbles.

    S: Most barnyardy barn yard smell ever. Then overtaken by deeper lemony sour. I know that sounds contridictory, but it works.

    T: Citrusy sour blast. An aggresive mouthfeel, not sure from what. Very low carbonation hurts it. Oak barrel aged is hard for me to find at times, but here the woodiness is a subtle explanation point.

    O: I like the taste. And there's really wrong with this beer. But it's not a great beer. Missed carbonation. A flavor or two slightly out of synch. I am probably harder on it than I should be. Try it for yourself.
  • 614 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 12, 2013 at 22:51:04
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 12, 2013
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
1,216 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.64/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 4.80% Color: Orange
  • Pours cloudy with nary foam to cover.

    Aroma of lemony tartness, almost sour. Oak, stereotypical barnyard scents on top of dose of sweet tarts.

    Taste is oak, citrus (lemon) and tart. Once again the tart ebbs on edge of sour. Sweet tart flavor is there late with lemon sweetness mixed with slight tart lingering. Late in the beer there is build of citrus tart that almost puckers at times.

    Light body with strong, small bubbled carbonation. Dry yet very refreshing.

    This is a nice beer. The tart and sweet play with each other while the brett brings on a large profile, adding a funky layer of complexity. Enjoy!
  • 621 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 12, 2013 at 22:46:05
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 12, 2013
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • Weyermann Pilsner, Munich, Wheat, Acidulated
Hops
  • Magnum, Liberty, Saaz, Santiam