5 Golden Rings - The Bruery

5 Golden Rings

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 6.94/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.12 or 1.73%

Trend: 6.94/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Belgian Golden Strong Ale

ABV: 11.50%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 50%

1,316 beers rated with a 7.86 average
  • 7.06/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 1.73% Color: Gold
  • Pours clear with a more than a inch of pure white foam. Retention is average, eventually leaving only a ring. Lacing is sporadic but sticks.

    Aroma is spice: clove, pepper, cinnamon and nutmeg are the strongest and in the order listed. Yeast adds a layer. Alcohol tries to hide but too strong to disappear completely.

    Taste is pineapple acid up front, lots of it. Alcohol is another big aspect. The finish builds on the pepper and clove, making it come across as spicey hotness to a degree.

    Big body of a beer - leaving legs on the glass. Low end of medium carbonation.

    I can't drink more than a half glass of this beer. The heat and spice become too much over the course of a half glass. Going to be very interesting how this beer ages. Enjoy!
  • 758 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 20, 2012 at 21:49:21
  • Tasted: Thursday, December 20, 2012
  • $11.99 for 750 ml bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 6.82/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 1.73% Color: 6
  • Aroma, Some kind of spice. Maybe the pineapple, but also cinnamony, maybe the all-spice? These are all described in the beer, but it's hard for me to tell which is clearly on top, but it's an interesting "spicy" aroma. And it's not overly powerful.

    Look. Clear gold, no head, thinnest lace. Clings to glass, syrupy. Likely the pineapple.

    Taste: It's big, it's over bearing. The pineapple is present and it's almost like drinking the pineapple juice out of a can. It's syrupy and powerful and a lot. So it would be hard to drink a lot of this beer.

    I think this needs to age to blend and mellow out. It's so sharp, again it's hard to drink a lot. I would like to have this beer on the condition that I share it with a lot of people. One great small shot is plenty.

    I don't get any hops, I don't get any alcohol, it's covered by the sweetness. There is a ginger like/ clover burn to the beer. That just makes it hard to drink more. Again, I sort of like it. I would like it aged, and shared. I would try it again if offered, but I wouldn't buy it.
  • 1,082 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 20, 2012 at 21:45:44
  • Tasted: Thursday, December 20, 2012
  • $11.99 for 750 ml bottle
Untappd
  • (3.678)
    over 8,425 ratings
Beer Notes
  • 5 Golden Rings is the 5th verse in our ‘12 Days of Christmas’ winter seasonal ale series. The only golden ale in the bunch, we spiced up the natural pause in the classic song with cinnamon, allspice and ginger along with the delicious sweet and tangy flavor of pineapple. The resulting ale is a true holiday treat that can be enjoyed fresh or cellared until 2019, when 12 Drummers Drumming will be released.
Cost Breakdown
  • $11.99, 2 serving(s), 750 ml bottles
Beer Swapping