Log in Join now
Saison - Rockmill Brewery

Saison

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 6.30/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.32 or 5.1%

Trend: 6.30/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Saison

ABV: 6.50%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 33%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 6.66/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 5.71% Color: Deep Gold
  • A: Very clear, deep gold. An average amount of soft white small bubbles.

    S: very soft aromas, almost muted. First is farmhouse-ness, some breadiness, sweetness from malt, and faint spice. Nothing wrong, kind of an average score on enticement.

    T: Seems too sweet and a bit too bitter. I always disclose this is not my fav style. It's not perfectly balanced, so the spice seems too pronounced.

    O: I hate being negative. I just can't get past the bitterness of the spice. It's drinkable but at the price point I need to like it more.
  • 533 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 07, 2013 at 21:49:15
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 07, 2013
  • $13.99 for 750 ml bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 6.36/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 0.95% Color: 5
  • Aroma: Farmhouse up front. Hint of bread, low spice, slight alcohol.

    Look: Light gold, very clear, even thin lace over beer, with slight cling to edge. Tight carbonation.

    Sweet up front, bitter end which lingers. Hop is bitter, but not flavorful. Out of balance. Not exceptionally flavorful. Sort of Farmhouse yeast wt bitter end and no flavor in the middle. Sort of weird, because that no flavor in the middle is- no flavor. However, it is 'clean'. Clean being no flavor. I dunno. Is it easy to drink on a hot day, sure. Is it flavorful and easy to drink on a hot day- meh.


    Medium body, tight carbonation.

    Drinkability: Sure it's drinkable, but it's not fantastic or even great

    For $14, there are better buys.

    Just to clarify, it's not bad. It's just not great. It's ok at best, and it's $14. Pass.
  • 827 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 07, 2013 at 21:48:35
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 07, 2013
  • $13.99 for 750 ml bottle
1,223 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 5.88/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 6.67% Color: Gold
  • Pours crystal clear with a couple of fingers of clear, white foam. Lacing is nicely clings to the sides of the glass after the head recedes.

    Aroma is reluctantly void of the typical Belgian yeast characters as a whole. Mild pepper plays on top of a hints of alcohol. Bread and a touch of sweet swell behind.

    Taste is sweet up front that lasts all the way through to the finish. The middle and end pick up some pepper that clings to the corner of the lips.

    Medium body with medium carbonation. Dries some.

    Not much Belgian characteristics coming through, too sweet and not dry enough for me. That about sums it up. I had high expectations (the cost helps to put them there as well) but was really let down. Enjoy!
  • 726 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 07, 2013 at 21:45:53
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 07, 2013
  • $13.99 for 750 ml bottle