Log in Join now
Fat Squirrel - New Glarus Brewing Company

Fat Squirrel

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.08/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.08 or 0.99%

Trend: 8.08/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: English Brown Ale

ABV: 5.80%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.16/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.99% Color: Brown
  • Pours a rich brown color with a half inch creamy white head. Medium retention with above average lacing. I am getting a solid layer of lacing all the way down the glass.

    Aroma is simple and mild. I am getting malt with a nuttiness.

    Taste is much more impressive. A nice nutty flavor at the start that works into a nice malt on the backend. In the finish I get a hint of coffee which is a nice surprise.

    Light body with low to medium carbonation.

    Overall this is a really good beer. I was worried that I would be disappointed when I gave it a sniff after pouring it, but the flavor more that makes up for the weak aroma. Light enough to enjoy year round. I'll be having this one again!
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, May 31, 2011 at 00:01:02
  • Tasted: Tuesday, May 31, 2011
  • $1.69 for 12 oz. bottle
1,183 beers rated with a 7.80 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.99% Color: Brown
  • Poured clear with three fingers of medium-thickness, off-white foam. Low retention with good lacing. F0am meanders down to a thin coat over the top of the beer.

    On the nose there is some nuttiness with some roasted malt. Aroma isn't that strong.

    Flavor follows and is typical for a brown ale. Nuttiness and some vanilla up front. Big malt backbone that finishes with a tad bit of coffee.

    Low on the carbonation and body. Refreshing beer (barely lasted in my glass). Maybe could be a little bit heavier but then it wouldn't be so easy to drink.

    A really good brown ale that I could drink over and over again. If you pass through Wisconsin, pick it up. Just like any other New Glarus product, well worth the trip. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Friday, August 14, 2009 at 19:57:53
  • Tasted: Friday, August 14, 2009
  • $1.33 for 12 oz. bottle