Log in Join now
Combat Marshmallow - Solemn Oath Brewery

Combat Marshmallow

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.99/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.29 or 3.61%

Trend: 7.99/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Stout

ABV: 8.00%

IBU: 76

Season: Occasional

Have Another: 100%

361 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.40/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 5.13% Color: Deep Brown
  • A: Definitely deep brown color. Nice full foam of soft bubbles that were light khaki color. Fairly quick dissipation of most of the foam, but a decent ring hung for awhile.

    S: First is pine resiny aroma, but then it's hard to get past and define what else is there. Working hard at further detection, a little toasted biscuit....but after that I'd just be making shit up.

    T: Pine and hop resins. Not much sweetness nor is it overly bitter. Citrus tart without a specific fruit coming to mind. Medium mouth feel and appropriate carbonation.

    O: A totally style bending brew. My buddy's and I argued whether or not this should be more correctly classified as a Black IPA. It was hard to isolate individual flavors, partly it's because the beer is really nicely balanced. If I had a knock, it's that could use a bit more complexity of underlying flavors. A unique brew to sort through, but a very good one. No question that I would have this beer again.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 19, 2013 at 22:13:39
  • Tasted: Thursday, December 19, 2013
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 7.76/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.88% Color: 26
  • Aroma: Hoppy, which isn't to style.
    Taste: It tastes good, but it tastes hoppy. That's not to style, but I still like it. Chinook and Simcoe? The hops over take the Stoutyness. Are we sure it's not a Cascadian Dark??? Medium body. Hoppy finish.
    Slight solid lace, a caramel brown color.

    Don't get me wrong, I like this beer, but it's a Stout? And Imperial Stout? Again, are we sure it's not a Imperial Cascadian Dark?
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 19, 2013 at 21:53:39
  • Tasted: Thursday, December 19, 2013
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,186 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 7.82/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.13% Color:
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 19, 2013 at 21:45:33
  • Tasted: Thursday, December 19, 2013
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • Full bodied, black in color. Big roasted malt presence with notes of dark chocolate and coffee balanced by a resinous, piney hop girth.
Cost Breakdown
  • $8.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping