Log in Join now
Hoptober - New Belgium Brewing Company

Hoptober

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 8.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Spice, Herb, or Vegetable Beer

ABV: 6.00%

IBU: 40

Season: August through October

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Straw
  • I have had this beer many times, but never reviewed it. Seeing that this is the last one in the fridge, I figured tonight would be a good night to give it an official review. So here goes it....

    Pours a clear straw color with a one finger crisp white foamy head. Good retention on the head as it is present from start to finish on this beer. Spotty watery lacing.

    Aroma is crisp and clean. Floral and citrus hops with a bit of malt.

    Taste is crisp and clean to match the aroma. Starts with a sweet malt and works into a bold floral hop flavor with a well matched citrus hop mixed in on the backend. Sweet from start to finish, but in a very pleasant well balance way.

    Light body with medium carbonation. Creamy mouthfeel, but at the same time light on the palate.

    A very nice beer all the way around. Very well balanced and easy to drink. Nice balance and complexity between the sweet malts and the hops. A fresh 6 pack of this beer is a must have at least once per season for me. Any easy to find beer that is a must try for a hop lover!
  • 1,056 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, December 21, 2011 at 00:49:35
  • Tasted: Wednesday, December 21, 2011
  • $1.89 for 12 oz. bottle
1,214 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Straw
  • Poured clear with a huge amount of pristine white foam. I sometimes start to think that an aggressive pour into my mason mug for some reason creates this. Nice retention and some good spider web lacing.


    Big floral hop aroma. Citrus is there with its back. Malt has its place also.

    Taste of sweet up front. The middle starts the floral hops through the end. Citrus hops and fruity notes join for a very jubilant finish. For the amount of hops, not really bitter. Clean after taste.

    Light body and carbonation even a little bit of hop oil left on my lips. Nice.

    A light beer for the fall but nonetheless this a really good, sweet, hoppy, and balanced beer. I could have a whole bunch of these, light, crisp, and refreshing. Enjoy!
  • 744 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, October 29, 2009 at 21:12:35
  • Tasted: Thursday, October 29, 2009
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.70, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Hops
  • Centennial, Cascade, Sterling, Willamette, Glacier