Log in Join now
Iniquity Imperial Black Ale - Southern Tier Brewing Company

Iniquity Imperial Black Ale

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.15/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.22 or 2.66%

Trend: 8.15/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 9.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

361 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.46/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 3.80% Color: Dark Brown
  • A: Really dark brown and clear. Foam head quickly disappeared.

    S: Malt sweet mixed with grapefruit and light pine. Lighter notes of semi-sweet bitter chocolate. Seems like it would be syrupy.

    T: Not sweet, more dry and clean taste. There's spice and very subtly smokey malts. The mouthfeel is perfect for the brew. There's a very good mix of flavors into a single perfect taste. After repeated tasting and it warms up a spectrum of flavs start emerging: cherry, bitter chocolate, grapefruit pith, floral spice, etc. The alcohol is totally invisible.

    O: Really liked this beer. Key word would be sophisticated. All the elements blend so smoothly in this brew. I don't understand the controversy about this new style. This brew is flat ass great.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 07, 2011 at 22:56:44
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 07, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.84% Color: 28
  • Classic dark brown with semi translucence on the side. Little head.
    Aroma: Light chocolate dark overtones.
    Taste: Definitely de-bittered dark malts. I taste chocolate, slight roast, but no bitterness from dark malts. Interesting.

    Hops are there but the dark over tones make them hard to I.D. Bottle says cascade and chinook. Good hops, but hard to know with dark hops. This is a good beer, but I'm on the fence about this style. I dunno. I'll keep drinking them until I make up my mind.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 07, 2011 at 22:48:59
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 07, 2011
  • $8.99 for 12 oz. bottle
1,189 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.84% Color: Dark Brown
  • Poured clear with tan, one finger foam. Retention was okay with some blotchy lacing.

    Aroma is big on hops. Mainly citrus which I could narrow down to a pleasant orange peal. I am sure there is some roasted malt to give it the dark character but my nose couldn't find it but there is a malt backbone hanging out behind the hops.

    Taste is caramel and/or toffee up front. The beer also has roasted malt and citrus hops both of which also hang around in the after taste.

    Light carbonation and light body make a crisp smooth beer.

    The roasted and/or chocolate malt is used more for coloring but adds another dimension to the beer. The alcohol is high but couldn't be found within the beer; well hidden. A quality beer that I would seek again. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Saturday, November 07, 2009 at 22:38:10
  • Tasted: Saturday, November 07, 2009
  • $7.49 for 22 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Cost Breakdown
  • $8.99, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
  • $7.49, 1 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts
Hops