Broo Doo - Three Floyds Brewing Company

Broo Doo

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 9.15/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.15 or 1.64%

Trend: 9.15/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American India Pale Ale

ABV: 7.00%

IBU: 80

Season: October

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.30/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • sDev: 1.64% Color: Pale Gold
  • A: Slight haze to the pale gold. And a few floaters. Thick off-white big bubble foam of medium retention.

    S: Serious wet hop aroma, due in no small part to getting the first of the brew to hit stores in the Chicago area (just released and Munster's close by). Pine first, then mix of grapefruit and lemon. As the beer sits in the glass a few minutes a caramel malt scent emerges along with some unidentifed fruit.

    T: Is this a high-end IPA, or low-end DIPA? Kidding! It doesn't matter, the taste is fantastic. At the same time it's a big citrus fruit, then a very unique biscuity malt, and then the hop snap sneaks up.
    Not thick, but not thin...I know that sounds like a cop-out but it's well carbonated which makes the full load of ingredants seem thiner than it really is. At 7% abv has the juice, but not yet fuel.

    D: I could drink this shit ball day long. I know I prejudiced towards this brewer and I can't be objective towards their best brews. And, I scored a very fresh bottle of a wet hopped harvest ale. But, this brew is big and bold, while remaining extremely well balanced. It's stands up to the best of the West Coast. And all this from an industrial park on the edge of Chicago. These dudes rock and march to their own tune (metal). It's freshly brewed, do whatever you need to do, get some NOW.
  • 1,313 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, October 14, 2010 at 21:41:48
  • Tasted: Thursday, October 14, 2010
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,418 beers rated with a 7.86 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.64% Color: Medium Amber
  • Poured slightly cloudy with more than an inch of white foam. Retention was typical of an IPA: quickly bubbling away. Some but not much blotchy lacing.

    Aroma is of citrus and pine hop combination that plays nicely on the nose. There is a definite malt backbone: sweet, toffee, and caramel. Fruity scents that give off a fresh feeling to the beer.

    Taste is big up front on the malt: sweet. Then comes wave and wave of resiny hops: citrus, pine, and fruity, really tropical. The back end has some bread malt and hop bitterness.

    Big on carbonation and medium body that give a filling feeling to the beer.

    Oh how I like the ole little hop. The resins from the wet hop additions are evident while making the aroma and taste outstanding. I could drink this all day and I might have to go out to FFF and have one on tap. Enjoy!
  • 832 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, December 11, 2009 at 22:39:42
  • Tasted: Friday, December 11, 2009
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.974)
    over 27,148 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $9.49, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping