Log in Join now
Christmas Ale - Goose Island Beer Co.

Christmas Ale

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.50/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.5 or 6.67%

Trend: 7.50/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Brown Ale

ABV: 5.70%

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 6.67% Color: Amber-Brown
  • Vintage 2011 - bottled on 10/31/11
    abv: 6.2%

    Pours a slightly cloudy amber brown color with a one inch cream white head. Head settles out after a few minutes leaving a thin layer of creamy tightly formed bubbles floating on top. Lacing sheets down the sides of the glass.

    The aroma is lightly toasted malt, bread, brown sugar and a hint of spice and a dark fruit making an appearance as well.

    The taste is similar to the aroma with lightly toasted malts, bread, caramel, and brown sugar with a light spice. I am also getting a bit of dark fruit, maybe raisin on the finish. The spice is light and is a nice change as too many of the winter beers over do it with the spices.

    Medium body with light to medium carbonation. Creamy smooth mouth feel.

    Overall I would say that this a solid brown ale that fits the winter season well. It is well balanced with nice winter flavors and a mouth feel that is buttery smooth and easy to drink. I have two bottles that I am going to cellar for a few years as the label says that it will age in the bottle up to 5 year. I'll let you know in a few years how it ages, but for now it tastes great!
  • Reviewed: Monday, January 16, 2012 at 01:04:35
  • Tasted: Monday, January 16, 2012
  • $2.49 for 12 oz. bottle
1,187 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 6.67% Color: Deep Amber
  • Pours clear with a huge, tan, frothy foam. Retention is like no other as it hangs around more than I wish as I hate drinking through foam. Lacing begins as the foam slowly recedes: sticky and web like.

    Aroma is toasted malt, earthy, slight spice, with citrus hops. Not huge on the sniffer but definitely pleasant.

    Taste is a toasted but sweet malt up front with a touch of roasted malt in the finish. Peppery on the lips. A bit of bitterness throughout with a strong citrus (grapefruit) hop bitterness into the aftertaste.

    Medium body but thicker than it appears to the eye as it is a bit sticky. Light carbonation.

    A good beer that I could have each season as it really doesn't come across as that big of a spiced beer. Easy drinking and low enough ABV to have a few. Enjoy!

    Note: bottled on 10/16/09 1838 (from side of bottle)
  • Reviewed: Monday, January 11, 2010 at 21:06:22
  • Tasted: Monday, January 11, 2010
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Cost Breakdown
  • $2.49, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
  • $8.99, 1 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts