Log in Join now
Hopslam Ale - Bell's Brewery, Inc.

Hopslam Ale

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.52/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.45 or 4.76%

Trend: 9.52/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 10.00%

Season: January through February

Have Another: 100%

1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.91/10 have another
  • A: 8.4 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.3 | M: 9.2 | O: 9.1
  • sDev: 6.41% Color: Deep Gold
  • From a can with package date of 2019-01-08.

    Pours clear with an inch of white foam covers the liquid surface. Great retention. Thick and coating lacing throughout.

    Aroma of honey and caramel on top of grassy (almost herbal), light lemon and pine. As it warms the caramel/honey becomes more pronounced as well as developing alcohol.

    Taste is well balanced between the hops, malt, sugars, and alcohol. There is a bitterness that does not linger, balancing the sweetness. Honey/caramel lingers mildly. Citrus, grass, and minimal pine add complexity.

    Big body with average carbonation. Dries leaving touches of stickiness on the lips but no too much.

    I last reviewed this beer when it was in a bottle, the serving was 20% cheaper, and the craft beer landscape was quite different, including the rating system on this site. My palate has change and there are variances in this beer from year-to-year. A quality DIPA that is a throw back to days gone by. Enjoy!
  • 970 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, January 19, 2019 at 13:41:10
  • Tasted: Saturday, January 19, 2019
  • $3.33 for 12 oz. can
  • 10.00/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • sDev: 5.04% Color: Gold
  • I drank an entire six pack of this before I pulled myself away from this enticing brew long enough to right down words. Jaw dropping awesomeness.

    Pours clear. An aggressive pour yields a 90% white, big bubbled, sticky foam in my glass. Three minutes after the first pour I had enough room to pour again. The foam was sticky like the webbing you spray at Halloween.

    Sensory overload. Aroma is full of just about every tropical fruit you could imagine: citrus, orange, and strong mango. Caramel and a touch of bread malt round out the nose.

    Taste is caramel and bread malt to build up to the hop bubble that is to be burst in your mouth next. The cornucopia of hops flavors throughout the taste is strong (not too strong) and outstanding. Citrus, orange, mango, and even pine hop flavors tap across the tongue.

    Medium body that almost has a creamy (maybe hop oil) sense to it with medium carbonation possibly be an over statement, but both doing the beer justice.

    This beer is really outstanding. The complex nature of the hop profile is a delicacy for the senses. I could smell this beer all day long and never get tired of it. Then you could drink it all day long (at least until you fall over) since the taste is top notch with the high alcohol hidden. A well balanced hop bomb. Enjoy!
  • 1,305 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, January 29, 2010 at 21:42:56
  • Tasted: Friday, January 29, 2010
  • $2.67 for 12 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 10.00/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • sDev: 5.04% Color: Gold
  • Pours a slightly hazy golden color with a thin white head. Head dissipates after a few minutes leaving a thin swirl of foam resting on top of the beer. Spotty web like lacing.

    The aroma is big and bold. Citrus hops are the main player with a pine hop present as well. A caramel malt is noticeable as well which I suspect is what gives this beer a sweet scent.

    The taste is amazing. Starts with a caramel bready malt and works into a rich citrus hop flavor and then finishes with a spicy pine hop and a slightly bitter finish. The hops are complex on this beer, citrus is the first thing that comes to mind, but the more I taste it I can detect tropical fruits like mangos and even orange.

    Medium body with medium carbonation. A creamy smooth mouth feel with a slight oily character. The finish is slightly bitter with a prickly sharpness.

    Overall I am really impressed with this beer. This beer sets the standard for perfectly balanced beers and this one could not get any more balanced. The aroma, taste and mouth feel are perfect and makes for a very easy drinking beer which is unusual for a beer with such a high abv. If your a hop junkie, put this on your must try list!
  • 1,190 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, January 17, 2012 at 00:26:32
  • Tasted: Tuesday, January 17, 2012
  • $2.92 for 12 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 9.64/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • sDev: 1.26% Color: 5
  • Head, light/thin white clingy head. Tight light carbonation. Nearly clear gold with haze at center of glass.

    Aroma: Complicated pleasant hops. Not overtly strong, just all goodness. Piney. Hoppy. Exotic fruit/mangoy? Slight spicy.

    Taste: This is all the good C hops in one. WOW +2

    I am relucantant to give 10's to any beer. But you can buy this off the shelf? It's amazing.
  • 390 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 13, 2011 at 23:31:23
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • $2.67 for 12 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $2.80, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
  • $3.33, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. cans
Beer Swapping