Log in Join now
#9 - Magic Hat Brewing Company

#9

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.50/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.5 or 6.67%

Trend: 7.50/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Fruit Beer

ABV: 4.60%

IBU: 20

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

1,223 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 6.67% Color: Gold
  • Pours clear with a nice two finger, white fluffy foam. Some retention but not much. A little bit of lacing.

    Aroma is full of a lot of sweet fruit. I thought of a fruit salad with a beer thrown on top of it. Not one fruit, not citrus, but a cornucopia of sweet fruit. Seems to be some grainy or bready malt to boot.

    Taste is fruit and bready malt. The fruit I really can't make out again in terms of single or a couple of fruits.

    Mildly carbonated, light mouth feel, with it seeming to be a little on the watery side.

    The mystic powers of magic hat are at work here as this beer is a little different. Definitely a refreshing and crisp beer for a warm day. Expect the unexpected. Enjoy!
  • 698 characters
  • Reviewed: Sunday, August 30, 2009 at 15:43:39
  • Tasted: Sunday, August 30, 2009
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 6.67% Color: Dark yellow-gold. Adequate hea
  • Aroma: Mysterious sweet, maybe floral. Totally unique. Initial taste impression: The unique aroma dominates first taste. Smooth, rich, and deep taste. Overall: One of a kind drinking experience, and a very respectable beer. Like MH says in their description, "Not so Pale Ale", it's not a cliche, it's accurate for this crisp and refreshing brew. Hops are there in the background, but like all great beers, the ultimate goal is to balance the ingredents into a mix that\'s a greater sum than individual parts. Now if I had one lingering doubt it would be #9's unique taste, and if after drinking more than one bottle I'd find this ale to be a gimicky "one bottle"...not a beer to drink on a regular basis. I need to get on the "business end" of a twelver(pack) and report back, but I've got to say I very much look forward to experiencing that sometime this summer."
  • 866 characters
  • Reviewed: Sunday, June 21, 2009 at 14:09:11
  • Tasted: Sunday, June 21, 2009
  • $1.25 for 12 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.38, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • Pale, Crystal
Hops
  • Cascade, Columbus
Yeast
  • English Ale