Log in Join now
Baumé - Half Acre Beer Company

Baumé

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 8.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Stout

ABV: 7.00%

IBU: 60

Season: Occasional

Have Another: 100%

360 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Deep Brown
  • Aroma: Slight hoppy citrus, roasted grain, a little chocolate and coffee scents.

    1st taste: Dry and clean, not sweet.

    Overall: Refreshing is not a description normally associated with Stouts. This beer does a perfect job of blending and balancing the flavors. I get some cocoa/coffee taste upfront, and then a soft and ever so slightly sweet finish. The 7% abv is almost invisible. It's not a light stout, but it's got to be one of the most drinkable version I've ever had. The rye add's a unique personality twist. This could be one of my new favors, certainly included in my frequent rotation during cold weather months.
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 22:27:27
  • Tasted: Wednesday, March 17, 2010
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,183 beers rated with a 7.80 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Black
  • Poured aggressively into my snifter with a beautiful, thick, frothy, brown foam. Really nice retention with the foam becoming more frothy as it recedes. Blotchy lacing here and there.

    Aroma has a nice sweet up front with roasted malt well masked by a clean citrus hop profile. Some bitter chocolate finds it way to the nasal cavity too.

    Taste has rye up front - spice. Chocolate, maybe some coffee too, come in the middle with roasted accents. Finishes with citrus hops along with a lingering chocolate bitterness.

    Heavy end of medium body with ample carbonation. Some creaminess meanders through the spice to compliment.

    This is a solid offering. Half Acre continues to make my purchases happy ones. Too bad they are even hard for me to get my hands on and I am only an hour from the brewery. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, March 17, 2010 at 22:13:17
  • Tasted: Wednesday, March 17, 2010
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle