Log in Join now
Riserva - Weyerbacher Brewing Company

Riserva

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.62/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.38 or 4.99%

Trend: 7.62/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Wild Ale

ABV: 11.40%

Season: June

Have Another: 100%

1,223 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 4.99% Color: Dark Pink
  • Poured cloudy with some floaties and sediment. About a half inch of pink hued foam that doesn't last becoming just a ring around the beer. No lacing to report.

    Aroma is brett and sour. There is some oak and raspberry along with a sweet side.

    Taste is sweet and raspberry foremost. Brett funk comes through in the end along with oak that dries the palate. Tart hits hard as you continue to drink.

    Medium light body with a medium or better carbonation.

    The high alcohol is well hidden. The raspberry comes through nicely, isn't over powering, and plays a nice role with the brett and sweetness. I don't find sours to be all that drinkable, not a knock, just that my palate can only handle so much. Enjoy!
  • 714 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 23:32:59
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 15, 2010
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.24/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 4.99% Color: Amber Pink
  • Sour raspberry, quickly no head.

    First is sour then the raspberry flavor, subtle bret funk, and somewhat sweet. Quickly dry and finally the oak shows up. Never would guess 11.4% abv.

    This brew from a limited series is unique and tasty. At this point of my beer geekdom, I'm not familiar enough with the style to draw any meaningful conclusions. It's got a great flavor and I'd drink it again. beyond that nothing I have to say would add meaningfull content to the discussion. You dink it and make your own opinion.
  • 518 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 23:28:36
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 15, 2010
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle