Log in Join now
Night Stalker - Goose Island Beer Co.

Night Stalker

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.60/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.08 or 0.93%

Trend: 8.60/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Stout

ABV: 11.20%

IBU: 60

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

361 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.52/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.93% Color: Black
  • Aroma: Very low key, suprised how light overall the scent. Maybe light roasted malt and a couple other notes.

    1st Taste: Holy cow, flavor explosion. This is deep black hole of chocolate, then dark fruits (prunes and what), and then alcohol fire.

    Overall: This brew is huge and complex and interesting. Definately a brew that'd get better with age. Only knock might be that the alcohol taste sticks out a little. But, this was freshly bottled on 2/19/10 so it's green. Worth keeping an eye on this brew.
  • 504 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 29, 2010 at 22:08:24
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 29, 2010
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,200 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 8.68/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.93% Color: Black
  • Poured opaque and black like midnight. A nice brown, frothy, creamy foam that was a good two inches thick. Retention was solid. Lacing, which there wasn't much of, was thick a patchy.

    Aroma is roasted malt and not that big. Maybe a touch of alcohol. I wasn't impressed by the aroma.

    Taste is GREAT! So complex: dark fruits, bitter from hops and chocolate, roasted malt, and some shots of brown sugar sweetness. A bit of coffee is there in finish too.

    Thick, rich, and creamy body leaves no doubt this is an imperial stout. Mildly carbonated. Drying.

    This is a really outstanding beer. I wish I would have bought more than one. When I was at the beer store I noticed they had a couple left, hopefully they will have at least one left. Go get it if you can. Enjoy!
  • 779 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 29, 2010 at 22:00:48
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 29, 2010
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Cost Breakdown
  • $9.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • 2-Row, Munich, Chocolate, Caramel, Roasted Barley, De-Bittered Black
Hops
  • Mt Hood, Simcoe