Log in Join now
Imperial Hatter India Pale Ale - New Holland Brewing Company

Imperial Hatter India Pale Ale

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 7.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 9.40%

Season:

Have Another: 100%

361 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Amber.
  • Aroma: Standard IPA hop, but less piney more floral.

    Initial taste: Fairly straightforward IPA, slight slant to th sweet side.

    Overall: I've got respect for the New Holland group, they seem very serious about their craft. My initial thought that I was drinking just anotyher IPA. But, upon further reflection this is big sweetness, big hops, and big alcohol that blend very well together. The alcohol level is very much hidden (careful amatuers). I've got to try this again to be fair.
  • Reviewed: Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 00:15:07
  • Tasted: Saturday, June 27, 2009
  • $9.50 for 22 oz. bottle
1,187 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Amber, haze
  • Poured without any head, so I can't say much about the retention and lacing. The aroma is that of hops, pine, and some malts.

    The taste follows the aroma. There are some citrus undertones. The pine comes through from start to finish and seems to have a little stronger hop/pine finish than Über Sun from Southern Tier, which I believe is far better over all. They do a great job hiding the high alcohol content and there is some sweetness. Nice job of balancing everything together.

    Not a bad Imperial IPA but not my favorite (mentioned above). I might not understand marketing all that well but it seems to me that these bomber in the $8 - $10 range cost the same for less than two beers that I can buy a sixer of most American craft microbrews - stopping here before I sound too cheap and I rant on this in the wrong place.

    My local liquor store (to work) was only allocated a case of these (assuming 12). So I don't know how hard this is to get, but if you enjoy IPAs I would recommend this one as long as you realize there are better ones out there.
  • Reviewed: Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 00:04:10
  • Tasted: Saturday, June 27, 2009
  • $9.49 for 22 oz. bottle