Pure Hoppiness - Alpine Beer Company

Pure Hoppiness

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.38/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.08 or 0.95%

Trend: 8.38/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 8.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.46/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.95% Color: Deep Gold
  • Appear: Dark Gold and kind of clear. Head disapated pretty quickly.

    Aroma: Light floral and muted fruity citurs. And maybe a slight mineral scent in the background.

    1st Taste: Deeper taste than the look and smell suggested. First comes a sweetness that suggests fruit more than malt. But the sweet quickly leave but not due to an overbearing hop prescence. Low level alcohol heat, but it's there.

    Overall: A very drinkable Imperial IPA. The personality keeps morphing, just as I try to define my experience with the various levels of this brew. All's in balance and I very much like the hop profile. Excellent brew from a small So Cal operation.
  • 649 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 03, 2010 at 21:45:54
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 03, 2010
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,387 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 8.30/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.95% Color: Pale Gold
  • Pours clear with a slight, white foam. Retention was barely alive. Lacing is spotty and a little bit sticky.

    Aroma is mostly floral and tropical fruit hops. There is a sweet malt there to balance.

    Taste is the hops. Here the profile of the hops is citrus and begins almost immediately while lasting into the finish and becoming bitter. Bitterness isn't overwhelming but hangs out for some time.

    Actually lighter than I expected in the mouth and about medium carbonation. Alcohol burn on the way down.

    If it wasn't for the big alcohol burn I don't know if I would guess this is a double, which is praise for the beer. Any beer that can burp up a grapefruit as nicely as this one did deserves a good score. Enjoy!
  • 724 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 03, 2010 at 21:45:28
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 03, 2010
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (4.023)
    over 74,493 ratings
Beer Swapping