Log in Join now
.357 Imperial Pilsner - Flossmoor Station Restaurant & Brewery

.357 Imperial Pilsner

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.23/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.07 or 0.85%

Trend: 8.23/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: German Pilsner (Pils)

ABV: 12.00%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

364 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.30/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.85% Color: Gold
  • A: Very golden, clear. Deeper color than expected. White foamy head with mid-level retention.

    S: Green apple, slight malt, and some of the alcohol.

    T: Didn't know what to expect, thought it would be overly sweet and sticky, but was not. Very original and interesting. The tree fruit flavor is there, not totally the apple in the aroma. Sweet is muted by hops, but not a bite more of a peppery feel.

    D: Soft spot for this brew in that Flossmoor made this to coincide its release with Dark Lord Day at nearby FFFs. It's definately a low practiced style, and in my opinion a well executed version. At 12% abv obviously this isn't a session brew, but characteristics would likely make a great edition to a food pairing dinner. If I had a knock, it's be the alcohol comes through a tad too much for my taste. But, I defiantely look for this in future releases.
  • 858 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, June 12, 2010 at 21:37:07
  • Tasted: Saturday, June 12, 2010
  • $13.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,214 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.16/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.85% Color: Gold
  • Poured clear with a minimal, pure white, half inch foam that didn't have much retention. Lacing was sporadic at best.

    Aroma has some hops (spiced) with a sweet malt. There is a definite green apple flavor that is all over whelmed by wafts of booze.

    Taste is sweet up front and almost throughout that is attempted to be balanced by a spicey hop that leaves a touch of bitterness in the finish. Alcohol hits the throat on the way down.

    This is a big beer all the way around with, at best, a light carbonation.

    Cloying is being kind to this beer. I understand that the grain bill puts the sweetness high in the sky but, for the style, so difficult to balance and balance well. I have another bottle that I am ageing but I am now suspect that if the alcohol settles the sweetness may go in the opposite direction. Enjoy!
  • 828 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, June 12, 2010 at 21:35:56
  • Tasted: Saturday, June 12, 2010
  • $13.00 for 22 oz. bottle