Log in Join now
Kalamazoo Stout - Bell's Brewery, Inc.

Kalamazoo Stout

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.50/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.5 or 6.67%

Trend: 7.50/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Stout

ABV: 6.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 50%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 6.67% Color: Black
  • I have family in Kalamazoo MI, so I had to try this one just for the name alone since I have been to Kazoo every year for as long as I can remember.

    Pours a deep black with a thin dark tan head. Head quickly dissipates leaving swirl of milky foam on top. Spotty lacing.

    Aroma is relatively mellow. I am getting a sweetness with a bit of chocolate and coffee. Maybe even a hint of licorice.

    Taste is rich and satisfying. I am getting roasted malts on my first sip. This works it's way into rich chocolate and coffee mix.

    Mouth feel is milky and smooth even but the body on this beer is relatively light for this style with light to medium carbonation.

    Overall a very tasty satisfying stout. Would have another. Next time I am in Kalamazoo, I would love to try it on tap!
  • 784 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 00:47:13
  • Tasted: Saturday, May 07, 2011
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 6.67% Color: Black
  • Really good, straight forward stout.
  • 36 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, June 05, 2009 at 11:30:52
  • Tasted: Friday, June 05, 2009
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle