Duet - Alpine Beer Company

Duet

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 9.09/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.15 or 1.65%

Trend: 9.09/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American India Pale Ale

ABV: 7.00%

IBU: 45

Season: Rotating

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.24/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.65% Color: Gold
  • A: Nice deep golden and clear. Almost merange thick off white head, retained full for 10 plus minutes.

    S: Lushes aroma, grapefruit and slightly floral, maybe some piney

    T: Nice hop to start, barely any sweetness. Nice citrusy, fruity, and floral notes come through. Kind of dry, while well carbonated. It's got hop bit, but I wouldn't call it bitter.

    D: Excellent brew. These folks at Alpine dont get much buzz that I see, but that's wrong cause they flat out know how to brew great West Coast style beer. It shows big hoppiness can be sophisticated. Balanced is an understatement. Grab Alpine whenever you get the chance.
  • 625 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 24, 2010 at 21:32:29
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 24, 2010
  • $6.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,457 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.65% Color: Gold
  • Poured clear but with some flecks of settlement. A nice meringue, white, and half inch of foam. Retention was really solid while the lacing is light but sticky.

    Aroma is gentle with some nice floral, pine, and fruity hops. A nice sweet, golden malt backbone for balance.

    Taste is sweet with the hops starting almost immediately, ending with some bitterness. Grapefruit is the strongest hop in the finish with pine riding side car. Earthy and resinous seems to develop as it warms.

    Heavy end of light body almost creeping into the medium body while carbonation is sharp and big. Slightly dry but still leaves a little juice in the mouth.

    Another hit for Alpine with me. Luckily I can get these beers occasionally. Going forward I am going to put them on my list to keep getting more. Solid IPA that stands up there with most any west coast IPA. Enjoy!
  • 864 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 24, 2010 at 21:21:03
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 24, 2010
  • $6.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.957)
    over 130,010 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $6.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping