Homewrecker - Bluegrass Brewing Company

Homewrecker

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.08/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.02 or 0.28%

Trend: 7.08/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Imperial/Double India Pale Ale

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

1,457 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 7.06/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.28% Color: Dark Gold
  • Poured clear with an inch of off-white, thick foam. Retention is maybe lucky if it is average while leaving behind some sticky, sheeting lacing.

    Aroma isn't what I was expecting from a IIPA but it is from Kentucky. :) Caramel sweetness, almost a dark fruit presense, with vegetal, and alcohol abound.

    Taste made me say wow. Sweet with a lot of alcohol. Lots of malt in this one. It is bitter but there isn't much of an actual hop flavor.

    Lighter than expected based on the nose, maybe medium body. Carbonation is really light. Dries out the mouth.

    More of a malt liquor to me than an IIPA but still a fun beer, just not a great IIPA if that's what you are looking for. I'd have it again but if I am in the mood for an IIPA than, I want an IIPA. Enjoy!
  • 765 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 24, 2010 at 21:59:57
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 24, 2010
  • $10.99 for 750 ml bottle
368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.10/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.28% Color: Medium Amber
  • A:Decent, though little foam with slight lacing.

    S:Very fruity, almost Belgian like. A very faint whiskey note in the background.

    T:Initial response is surprise. Expected thick sweetness from aroma. Instead it's dry, and malty without being overly sweet. There's some dark fruit flavors and maybe a slight honey sweet coming through. Low carbonation. The hop bite is a distant aftertaste. Can't find any info on the abv, assume high, but not overly hot for alcohol.

    D:It's unique and nothing about it is wrong. There are parts I would have liked to be better, for example the head and hop aroma. But at the end of the day I liked the taste and would have it again. But must agree with Big Scot, sort of missed the style.
  • 724 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 24, 2010 at 21:48:03
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 24, 2010
  • $10.99 for 750 ml bottle
Untappd
  • (3.563)
    over 3,002 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $10.99, 2 serving(s), 750 ml bottles
Beer Swapping