Log in Join now
Magnus ete Tomahawkus ESB² - Rock Art Brewery

Magnus ete Tomahawkus ESB²

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.59/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.35 or 4.07%

Trend: 8.59/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Extra Special/Strong Bitter (ESB)

ABV: 8.00%

Season: Rotating

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 8.24/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 4.07% Color: Deep Amber
  • A: Attractive deep orange golden amber. Thick, small bubble off-white head.

    S: Butterscotch, plums, and soft citrus. Very appealing.

    T: No disappointment in the first sip, the seduction continues. Fruity, a touch of malt sweet, then a hop bite. Can't taste the alcohol at all. Biscuity, with a little fruit, light caramel, some piney notes to finish.

    D: Second of two great brews from a small operation I've never heard of. ESB is a low on the style radar. In my opinion this brew is definately an americanized, west coast version of the english style. But that totally OK cause the best brews in my opinion are those that follow a style, yet create their own personality. Loved this brew and will keep an eye out for this brewery in the future.
  • 748 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 08, 2010 at 22:56:57
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 08, 2010
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 4.07% Color: Gold
  • Poured clear with about a half inch of off white, sticky foam. Retention is about average. Lacing is sticky and thick.

    Aroma is some straight forward malt: toasted mainly. Citrus and fruit scents are there, maybe dark fruits.

    Taste is toffee and toasted malts that are the backbone. Citrus comes in at the finish and leave a bit of minor bite in the end. The middle seems to be where the dark fruits roam. There is a touch of diacetyl (butterscotch).

    Medium carbonation works well with this full bodied beer. Much bigger than I expected.

    It is nice to be pleasantly surprised by a beer and I was by this one. A well rounded big beer that doesn't let the alcohol come through at any point. If you have the means get this and give it a whirl. Enjoy!
  • 761 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 08, 2010 at 22:40:43
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 08, 2010
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle