Log in Join now
Fourth Dementia - Kuhnhenn Brewing Company

Fourth Dementia

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.21/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.39 or 4.22%

Trend: 9.21/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Old Ale

ABV: 12.50%

Season: Rotating

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.70/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 5.54% Color: 18
  • Nice one Dudes! It's a winner for sure. Pours a deep rich mahogany color with a thin milky creamy head.

    Wow, this beer will make your nose have an orgasm! Rich buttery aromas, with a hint of booziness to it.

    Taste is rich and creamy. Very Smooth with lots of warmth as it goes down. I taste raisins or cherry, dark sugar and ends with almost a smokiness to it.

    This is a great end cap for the night, your tummy will be happy and you will sleep like a baby with the higher APV.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 24, 2011 at 22:09:20
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 24, 2011
  • $7.50 for 12 oz. bottle
360 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.64/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 4.67% Color: Ruby Brown
  • A: Rich and deep mahogony red brown. Soft bubbly, tan head that quickly disapated.

    S: Holy swinging monkeys. Crazy complexity, I don't know where to start. Alcohol and dark fruit come to mind first, but there's way more depth than I can isolate at first sniff. Super seductive blend of molasses, black cherry, vanilla, and clean-pure rocket fuel.

    T: Raisins and black currants soaked in alcohol. Then a port wine sweetness and than dark chocolate covered cherries. Could use some aging to take the edge off.

    D: This shit is the real deal. Definition of complexity and it blows my mind the variety of well defined flavors that emerge. At 13.5% abv the fuel is present, but not in a burning or instrusive way. The aroma is so awesome, I could almost just smell this brew and not even taste it....almost. When I think of a end of the night snifter, this very rich brew is the benchmark.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 08, 2010 at 23:34:32
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 08, 2010
  • $7.50 for 12 oz. bottle
1,172 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 9.30/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.98% Color: Ruby Brown
  • Had the 2009 vintage.

    Poured clear with a minor, tan, head. Retention is simple quickly becoming a ring. Lacing is minimal but sporadic and sticky.

    Aroma is huge and crazy complex. Alcohol is up there with dark fruits: mainly raisins. Sweetness that seems to be toffee and/or molasses in type. There is more than my description doesn't do it justice.

    Taste is another bomb of complexity. Lots of dark fruits and sweetness. The molasses seems up a notch while the fruits seems to include cherries. A sense of port. The alcohol does give a beer a burn.

    A big beer with almost no carbonation.

    Big, bold and fun. This is a well done. I have to get some more and cellar. A sipper and a dessert beer. This is pure beer goodness. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 08, 2010 at 23:34:24
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 08, 2010
  • $7.00 for 12 oz. bottle