Log in Join now
Apocalypse Cow - Three Floyds Brewing Company

Apocalypse Cow

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.85/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.09 or 1.02%

Trend: 8.85/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 11.00%

IBU: 100

Season: June

Have Another: 100%

363 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.76/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.02% Color: Pale Amber
  • A:Orangey, pale gold, slighly cloudy, big foamy, off-white head of medium retention.

    S: Fruit, citrus, floral, toasty malt, amd something else. Do I have lacto sugar on the brain.

    T: Taste lines up with the nose. Full mouthfeel. Good carbonation. FFF's signature to me is balance of complex brews, this has got it. I think a big malt sweetness is coming, but it doesn't. Lot's of flavors of tree fruits and citrus lend together. The lacto is a background addition, makes the brew full and smooth without being overly pronounced. And this is a brew that could get a dude in trouble quick. Maybe it's me, but I'd never guess the alcohol level of 11% abv by the taste. A wee bit of lingering hop bitterness I could do without, but now I'm splitting hairs.

    D: Love these guys, a Milk Imperial IPA, only FFF's pulls this kind of shit off. Not their best, but throughly enjoyable, original, and totally drinkable. There's something really unique about the taste and sort of refreshing for a rocket fuel brew. FFF's are one of the top original craft brewery's that continually push the boundries of style and their minor runs are way more interesting than a bunch of others full efforts.
  • 1,185 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, July 28, 2010 at 20:19:57
  • Tasted: Wednesday, July 28, 2010
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,201 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.02% Color: Gold
  • This is the last beer of the ones they have pictures on their site for that I have had to try. So here it is today.

    Pours cloudy with a two inch, tightly packed, off-white foam. Time stands still for the retention as the foam just sits there and stares back at you. Lacing is really thick and sticky, leaving a nice coating on the glass.

    Aroma is hop forward like most of FFF beers. Citrus, pine, and floral are both there with the citrus being the front runner. The back bone of sweet malts show through also.


    Taste is sweet up front and through the middle with a bit of a mild middle - not really all that interesting. The hops are pleasant with floral and citrus playing nicely together and on your palate. Not really bitter until you start swallow after the initial swallow.

    Sort of thin for a DIPA as is the carbonation. Being my third beer of my night this one is making my lips a little numb as I consume.

    I think you can almost get a milkiness to it along with viscous hops in the end of the beer. A little different take on a DIPA and I think they pull it off. I really don't think they use a ton of lactose but it is definitely keeping to FFF nature and being a hop bomb. Enjoy!
  • 1,206 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, July 13, 2010 at 22:15:08
  • Tasted: Tuesday, July 13, 2010
  • $11.99 for 22 oz. bottle