Vishnu's Vice - Flossmoor Station Restaurant & Brewery

Vishnu's Vice

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.74/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.2 or 2.29%

Trend: 8.74/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 7.70%

Season: One Time

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.54/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 2.29% Color: Pale Amber
  • A: Pale amber-gold, with ever so slight hazy. Delicate off-white foam, fairly quick dispates and leaves light lace.

    S: Grapefruity with floral background.

    T: Soft touch, low volume on the sweetness, and a little spice/peppery flair. Hop bite is late appearing. Very light mouth feel and low carbonation.

    D: Hugely drinkable for a 7.7 abv IPA. Interesting personality, I assume the reference to the India god is part a nod to the spiciness of the hops. I could drink this everyday, but I like a tad more citrus or fruit/floral sweetness. However, I think a wide spectrum of variation within a style is a good thing. Another great brew from little Flossmoor.
  • 659 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 22, 2010 at 22:01:15
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 22, 2010
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,387 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 2.29% Color: Gold
  • Poured a little cloudy with minimal white foam. Lacing and retention were the same as there wasn't much to work with.

    Aroma is hop bountiful. Citrus and tropical fruit. Citrus is more grapefruit forward, which is the strongest hop scent. Malts are subdued, slightly sweet, earthy, and bready.

    Taste has a stronger malt presence than the aroma with earthy malt coming through the most. The hops are once again the center piece, nice blend of flavor with ample bitterness in the finish that doesn't last nor ruin the palate.

    Not that big of a carbonation foot print with a body that is surprisingly light. A slight touch of alcohol is pleasant.

    Only a single IPA? Wow. This is west coast on the Lake Michigan coast. Maybe since this is a remake this might become a regular on the rotation. Now I have to send my Mom back out there to get another bottle. Enjoy!
  • 874 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 22, 2010 at 21:51:22
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 22, 2010
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (0.000)
    over 1 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $8.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping