Log in Join now
Stone Soup - New Glarus Brewing Company

Stone Soup

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.20/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.2 or 2.17%

Trend: 9.20/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Belgian Pale Ale

ABV: 5.30%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 9.40/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 2.17% Color: Straw
  • Pours a cloudy straw color with a nice half inch head. Head dissipates quickly leaving a thin layer of light bubbly foam on top.

    Aroma is very fresh and inviting. I am getting a nice clove aroma mixed with wheat. I am also getting a nice hint of a spice.

    The Taste is amazing. The beer is really well balanced. I am getting sweet malt mixed with a banana flavor upfront. This works its way into an amazing blend of banana, sweet malt, wheat, and nice clove. Again I am getting a little bit of spice on the backend.

    Mouth feel on this beer is great. Smooth with a bit of creaminess. Light body with medium to high carbonation.

    Overall I am really impressed with this beer. It is very complex in taste as well as aroma, but very drinkable and well balanced. This one has just joined my list of favorites! Try one!
  • 826 characters
  • Reviewed: Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 02:01:56
  • Tasted: Sunday, May 22, 2011
  • $1.66 for 12 oz. bottle
1,211 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 2.17% Color: Straw, hazy
  • After blogging about Specter Scotch-Style Ale, I became a little thirsty for a nonjudgmental friend: beer. Thought it would be a good time to rate another one of the New Glarus beers that I picked up two weeks ago.

    Pours with a one finger white, foamy head into my New Glarus pint glass. Retained one third of the original head, while two thirds vanished in the wind quit quickly. Lacing seems to not exist.

    The nose senses wheat and some clove after a little bit of trying to place the scent. At first I even thought some yeast (but does it really have a scent?)

    The beer starts with some medium carbonation, banana flavor and some sweetness (malts). Possibly even some citrus. Followed by a middle that is hard for me to describe - seems like all the flavors sort of meld together to this simple, yet complex flavor that is very pleasing. The beer finishes with some wheat and clove. The beer is refreshing, clean, crisp and has a light mouthfeel.

    I enjoyed the finish with the light clove/wheat mixture. This beer takes a good half of glass to figure out. At first it seems simple but the more you drink (enjoy) and dissect the beverage, the clearer it becomes that it simpleness is only a front for a surprising complexity behind. Enjoy!

    Note: when I was at New Glarus, this was a beer that I taste tested (3 ounces). I really wasn't too thrilled with this one. Make sure you give this beer a chance and really try and enjoy the simple complexity!
  • 1,469 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, July 08, 2009 at 00:13:42
  • Tasted: Wednesday, July 08, 2009
  • $1.33 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.50, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Yeast
  • Belgian Monastic