Summer Beer - Anchor Brewing

Summer Beer

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 6.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 6.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Wheat Ale

ABV: 4.60%

Season: April - November

Have Another: 100%

1,360 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 6.00/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Straw
  • Poured into a pint glass. Had to pour several times to get entire contents of bottle in the glass due to the thickness and height of the white foam. Good retention and lacing throughout the beer.

    The aroma is quite full of wheat, some grain, and even a little bit of citrus hints. None of these are overly strong.

    The taste is some sweet malt, wheat, and I think I sense some butteryness too. The beer seems to have an odd thickness to me in the mouth with a fair amount of carbonation.

    This beer tends to be on the very light side: not much aroma or flavor. Could be a glorified lite beer or it could just be a beer that isn't trying to be more than the style suggest: nothing added to boost aroma or flavor as this seems to be the trend.

    Not great but definitely a beer that can go down easily on a warm summer day. Enjoy!
  • 836 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, July 14, 2009 at 07:21:49
  • Tasted: Tuesday, July 14, 2009
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle
367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 6.00/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Clear yellow. And a crazy-thic
  • Aroma: A fresh aroma that's grainy, grassy, and maybe very faintly sweet.

    First taste: An initial creamy, buttery, full mouth feel that's very fresh and clean.

    Overall: Our little tasting group's consensus was this is the beer with the amazingly invisible taste. With the first sip of the brew, I was completely convinced this is another great American Pale Wheat Ale....then the flavor just disappears. I'd love to see the IBU rating, are there any hops in this? It's not that I dislike this seasonal with it's the perfectly dry, clean taste. On a hot summer day, this brew would go down easy. But, where's the personality that I'd expect out of an offering from Anchor, a long time craft brewery located in the idiosyncratic city of SF. Maybe, it's me. Have I been seduced by gimmicky flavored loaded, look how crazy we can make'em...Wheat's from other brewers? Is there a Zen-like, Cali-thing going on, and I need to taste the simplicity? Or am I over thinking this, and it's just a high-end "light" beer? It's going to be 86 degrees in Chicago today, later I'm going to sit in the sun, drink a couple more, and try to sort it 'all' out.
  • 1,143 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, July 11, 2009 at 10:43:27
  • Tasted: Saturday, July 11, 2009
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.304)
    over 19,581 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.50, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • Wheat and 2-row Barley