Archangel Summer Wheat - North Peak Brewing Company

Archangel Summer Wheat

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.18/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.82 or 10.02%

Trend: 8.18/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Wheat Ale

ABV: 5.00%

IBU: 38

Season: Summer

Have Another: 100%

1,360 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 7.36/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 10.02% Color: Amber
  • Pours dirty with some yeast with enough frothy, white foam to fill a baseball stadium. Didn't even get a 6oz pour into my pint glass. Retention is outstanding with the foam thickening even more as it recedes. Lacing is thick, sticky, and sporadic.

    Aroma is big on the cherries. Some wheat but a dose of musty/tart fruit aromas follow. Definitely reminds me a bit of a Jolly Pumpkin beer.

    Taste has signs of a wheat beer with a some cherry to it. Sweet in the middle, becoming mildly tart in the finish. Not over done, letting the beer come through a bit.

    Light body with a big carbonated fizz but not a detraction. Dries the palate a bit.

    Not a slap you in the face fruit beer. Enough of the base beer comes through to keep this one legit. On a hot summer day this would be much more refreshing and probably when I would seek another one out. Enjoy!
  • 865 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, December 01, 2010 at 20:47:47
  • Tasted: Wednesday, December 01, 2010
  • $1.49 for 12 oz. bottle
367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 10.02% Color: Medium Amber
  • A: Medium amber that veers to a reddish orange coloring. Full head of pure white semi-thick foam with decent retention.

    S: Slightly sour or yeast, and slightly cherry fruit. Overall crisp and clear scent. Inviting is the adjective I'd use for sum-up of smell.

    T: Tart yeast musty and cherry, but not sweet and not overdone. Can't miss that it's a wheat by the crisp clean taste. Medium high mouth-feel and well carbonated.

    D: Sophisticated fruit wheat. Maybe I'm projecting but the brewery has links to Jolly Pumpkin. And I can't help but think that the well blended musty tartness and subdued bitter cherry flavors resulting in a high quality and mature brew isn't due to the JP affiliation. It was really hard to find this beer, many attempts in southwest MI through the summer came up blank. Thanks to Annette May at Dearborn's Fine Wines for helping me finally score one of the last six-packs in Oct. I'll work harder next summer to get more of the superb beer.
  • 968 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, October 30, 2010 at 23:14:58
  • Tasted: Saturday, October 30, 2010
  • $1.49 for 12 oz. can
Untappd
  • (3.450)
    over 10,296 ratings
Beer Notes
  • Secondary fermentation with Michigan Bitter Cherries.
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.49, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
  • $1.49, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. cans
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • Wheat, Pale
Hops
  • Williamette, Perl