Log in Join now
Beelzebeer - Flossmoor Station Restaurant & Brewery

Beelzebeer

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.64/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.28 or 3.66%

Trend: 7.64/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Strong Ale

ABV: 9.50%

Season: Yes - batch 666

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.36/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 3.66% Color: Deep Brown
  • A: Deep mahagony brown with nice full dark kakai foam head.

    S: Faint scents. Sweet orchard fruit. I don't get the malt and smokiness that my fellow tasters are detecting. Some bitter chocolate notes emerge in the background.

    T: Chocolatey malt and low fruit sweetness. Full carbonation. Full mouthfeel, and ever so slight oiliness. Alcohol is completly masked. I'd also call it fully balanced, but a distinct bitterness lingers in the after taste. Not sure it's hop bitterness though.

    D: Started to drink it too cold, and it became more flavorfull as it warmed. The knock I have is the a bitter aftertaste that might be attributed to dark bitter chocolate. Want to like this mjore than I did. Perhaps aging will benefit this brew. I still think Brian S. at Flossmoor is a great brewer.
  • 789 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 30, 2010 at 20:59:00
  • Tasted: Thursday, December 30, 2010
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.92/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 3.66% Color: Black
  • Pours opaque with a quarter inch of brown foam. Retention is about average, leaving a ring around the sides of the glass. Lacing is thin but coating.

    Aroma is mostly roasted and smoke/peat malt. Sweet but dark fruits. Would say the sweetness is molasses in nature.

    Taste is slight sweet up front that quickly transitions to peat and smoke that last through to the end and finish: lingering a bit. Some coffee (touch) and chocolate bitterness that lends to the after taste.

    Medium body with a light carbonation that coats the mouth - oily or creamy, I can't decide.

    There are parts of this beer that are very appealing and parts that just don't do it for me. I have another bottle to decide whether or not this beer is a hit or not. If you have the ability to get it, try it. If you have to go out of your way to acquire one, then pass. Enjoy!
  • 856 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 30, 2010 at 20:45:51
  • Tasted: Thursday, December 30, 2010
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle