Log in Join now
Black Perle - RJ Rockers Brewing Company

Black Perle

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.26/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.38 or 4.56%

Trend: 8.26/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Cascadian Dark Ale

ABV: 9.50%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

1,167 beers rated with a 7.80 average
  • 8.30/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.48% Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours clear with about an inch of frothy, tan foam. Retention is above average with thick, sticky lacing.

    Aroma is big on the dark malts. Dark fruits, molasses, and roasted malt all add to the drinks complexities. Very much like a stout in aroma. Minor scents of resin.

    Taste is sweet with molasses and dark fruits up front with both becoming prominent in the finish again. Roasted malt and especially coffee start in the middle through the end, with the coffee, and then smoke both coming into play. A bit of resin and bitterness that helps to balance.

    Medium body at biggest with minimal carbonation. Lighter than expected yet bigger than I expected.

    A contrast of styles taken to a new level. Lots of big, dark malts that give a bold, yet light beer. I like the twist with little notice of the alcohol: well hidden. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 13, 2011 at 22:03:52
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.70/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 5.33% Color: 23
  • Note: 09 beer drank in 11

    Taupe thin, but thick clingy head. Ruby brown, translucent to about 1/4" of glass. When held to light, translucent ruby brown with tight dense light carbonation.

    Aroma, fruity molassass, sweet malt.
    Taste: Wow+1. That's great. Earthy, malty, coffee, smokey. Significantly stronger, bolder, and better than I imagined. This is a great beer. Sweetness hides the alcohol, but not overly sweet or syrupy.

    Mouthfeel: Light almost watery, but this balances the big flavor, so it's actually a great thing.

    This is a great semi-big beer.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 13, 2011 at 22:03:29
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
358 beers rated with a 7.92 average
  • 7.78/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 5.81% Color: Ruby Brown
  • A: Decent ruby brown color. Normal foam head of tan medium bubbles.

    S: Very unique aroma of dark sweet fruits and appealing, earthy muskiness.

    T: Surprise, not really sweet, earthy, low smokiness, and a coffee finish. It seems thinish at first, but after repeated tastes I realized it's a little sticky. Would never guess the abv level.

    D: I liked this beer but have no idea what to compare it to. I guess what I like is how different it is, yet it well balanced. But there's multiple layers of taste and flavor and in a weird way they all work together. Cool brew.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 13, 2011 at 22:03:18
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle