Lilja's Hop Nest Monster IPA - Sand Creek Brewing Company

Lilja's Hop Nest Monster IPA

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.21/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.15 or 2.08%

Trend: 7.21/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American India Pale Ale

ABV: 7.00%

IBU: 77

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 7.36/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.08% Color: Gold
  • Love the name of this beer. Very Creative!

    Pours a nice golden color with a white fluffy head. Great retention with lots of nice thick heavy lacing.

    Aroma is malty, bread, and a bit of citrus. Fairly well balanced on the nose, but I was expecting a lot stronger hop in the aroma.

    Taste is similar to the aroma. It is not as hopped up as I was expecting. Lots of malt that works it's way into a mild grapefruit citrus with a dry bitterness on the backend.

    Mouth feel is light with medium carbonation, and very dry on the backend. Enjoyable.

    Overall a pretty good beer. I would say that it is well balanced, but was surprised that I was not hit with a really strong hop on this beer. I guess the name had me thinking it was going to be a hop bomb. Good beer though. Try one!
  • 785 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 28, 2011 at 22:58:07
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 28, 2011
  • $1.49 for 12 oz. bottle
1,418 beers rated with a 7.86 average
  • 7.06/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 2.08% Color: Gold
  • Poured clear but with some floaties; probably from the yeast. Foam is pure white, whippy, and as close as meringue without being meringue. Retention is quite good with some thick lacing that follows.

    Aroma is very malt forward with some light lemon hops. The malt is sweet but bread is predominant.

    Taste is mostly malt to begin, light citrus comes in the middle with bread and lemon finishing off the beer. The finish brings on some bitterness that isn't lasting.

    Carbonation comes out and meets while the body is a bit light but on the heavy side. Drying.

    When a beer is name has hop in the name, I expect an abundance of hops, especially on the nose. I like the beer but I was looking for a lot more hops: I was in the mood. Enjoy!
  • 745 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, February 22, 2011 at 21:31:39
  • Tasted: Tuesday, February 22, 2011
  • $1.40 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.279)
    over 2,864 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.45, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Hops
  • Merkur, Amarillo, Cascade
Yeast
  • Wyeast 1272 (American Ale 2)