Moo-Hoo Chocolate Milk Stout - Terrapin Brewing Company

Moo-Hoo Chocolate Milk Stout

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.16/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.84 or 10.29%

Trend: 8.16/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Milk/Sweet/Cream Sout

ABV: 6.00%

IBU: 30

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 10.29% Color: Deep Brown
  • A: As close to black, as a deep brown can be. Even the fizzy, quick to dissipate foam was dark brown.

    S: Chocolate sweetness is upfront. Then a good whiff of vanilla, brown sugar, and very faint smoke in the background.

    T: A Milk Chocolate taste hit, but the surprise is the lack of any of the anticipated sweetness. I'm surprised at the balance, almost comes off as dry. It has some viscosity but not at all cloying, probably due to the dryness. It's carbonated, and I like it, you'll have not figure out your own bubble ratio. I really like the after taste, no over done sweetness, it would be interest to see the malt bill.

    O: I am trying to figure out if I just suckered into the concept of the milk chocolate stout, is it the lactose sugars, or is it possible this brew is not a gimick. This beer has the superb flavor profile of dark bakers chocolate and a smoky, low alcohol whiskey. Then throw in a smooth dryness and muted sweet, and you've got a complex surprise. It competes with the best of american dark beers. I don't get many Terrapin, but I guess I need to work on that. This would be an insane beer if aged for some time in a bourbon barrel. I very much liked this stout.
  • 1,191 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, January 21, 2012 at 22:52:54
  • Tasted: Saturday, January 21, 2012
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,292 beers rated with a 7.85 average
  • 7.32/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 10.29% Color: Black
  • Pours opaque with a light brown, frothy, inch or so of foam. Retention is about average with foam becoming creamy thick. Retention is sheeting but runs back to the level of the liquid.

    Aroma of chocolate, molasses, and mostly roasted malt. A touch of coffee but no hops are recognizable.

    Taste is similar, finishing withe a chocolate and coffee bitterness that lasts. Sweet is definite plus molasses and roasted malt.

    Medium or better body with average carbonation, which might be a bit high for this beer.

    More roasted flavors than I expected as they dominate the sweet. Doesn't seem to be well balanced. A solid beer but just because lactose is in it, does it have to be called a milk stout? Enjoy!
  • 712 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, February 25, 2011 at 22:20:56
  • Tasted: Friday, February 25, 2011
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.903)
    over 82,711 ratings
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • 2 Row Pale, Flaked Oat, Chocolate, Crystal 85, Carafa III Special, Roasted Barley
Hops
  • Nugget, Willamette