Log in Join now
Bifröst - Elysian Brewing Company

Bifröst

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.27/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.61 or 7.41%

Trend: 8.27/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Christmas/Winter Specialty Spiced Beer

ABV: 7.50%

IBU: 55

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

361 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.40/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 10.52% Color: Pale Amber
  • A: Hazy orange gold, delicate white foam of medium retention.

    S: Thick malty sugariness. The comes the orange citrus with a touch of spiciness from the hops. The malt makes it a tad thick appearing, but enough fruitiness makes it more inviting.

    T: First is the malt sweetness in the nose is held in check in the taste. The first impression on taste notes is very soft butterscotch mixed with slightly sour tangerine. Then some biscuity notes followed by a light touch of alcohol. Medium in both mouthfeel and carbonation. The fade away taste sensation is a spicy bitter.

    O: The bad news is it's not what I expected in a winter warmer. the good news is that I am not a fan of most winter warmers. This could better be sold as a malted up IPA. I like it and in the end found it interesting. Bonus points for no added spice, just what's natural in the hops. Pretty good little brew.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 07, 2011 at 22:26:53
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 07, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,188 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 8.70/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 5.20% Color: Orange
  • Pours very cloudy with a quarter inch of white foam that has barely any retention and no lacing.

    Aroma is sugary malts first off. Amarillo adds a nice fruity tone. Some type of spice but I can't place it.

    Taste is sweet up front with a touch of marmalade/orange, almost tang, in the middle that last into the end and finish. Plenty of hops here: bitter but pleasantly so.

    Medium body with medium carbonation and slightly dry. Alcohol starts to come through late.

    Not what I expect from a winter beer and that is a good thing from my stand point. Almost what I would consider a pale ale on hops. The orange peel is a nice twist. Really like this one more than I expected. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 07, 2011 at 22:13:14
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 07, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.70/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 5.20% Color: 9
  • Deep translucent amber gold with nearly no head, slight cling to edges of glass. Aroma, sweet malt. Likely Amarillo behind it?

    Taste: First words, "Wow, I did not see that coming."
    Hop forward and a great combination of hops. Slight sweet quickly becomes a complicated hop bang, with a hop flavor end, but no lingering bitterness.

    Hops on bottles: Target, Amarillo, Styrian Goldings.

    To style? I dunno. Winter anything I imagine a spiced 'warm' beer. This is pale ale-ish. Medium carbonation, medium body.

    I would definitely drink this again, but in a blind taste I would give it the wrong style. So a great beer "Not to Style."

    And if someone thinks the "Not to Style" is wrong- please correct me.

    Edit: Call it Biv-rost.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 07, 2011 at 22:08:36
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 07, 2011
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • Pours golden with orange highlights. Smells alluringly sweet like caramel apples with a little spice and orange zest. Taste is bold and balanced with a good amount of citrus and earthy hop bitters to offset the bready, sweet malt character. Finishes dry with a bit of fruit.
Beer Swapping
Malts
Hops