Log in Join now
Blue Dot - Hair of the Dog Brewing Company

Blue Dot

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.49/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.3 or 3.55%

Trend: 8.49/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 7.00%

Season: Occassionally throughout the year

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 8.06/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 5.06% Color: Pale Gold
  • A: Deep side of pale amber with thick haze but not floaters. Full and thick off white faom of medium retention.

    S: Pepper and citrus hops upfront. Appealing but subtle.

    T: Citrus bitterness totally overtakes sweetness. The citrus seems more grapefruit than anything else. But it's more mellow red, than bruising biting grapefruit. Thin but a tad oily. Carbonation a little light.

    O: At first this seemed like it would be a bruising DIPA, but it turned out to be very drinkable. Don't get me wrong, this brew's got a monster hop build. But the hop profile is high grade and very unique.
  • 590 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 21, 2011 at 21:10:03
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 21, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,216 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.70/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.47% Color: Pale Gold
  • Pours slightly cloudy with a floatie here and there. Foam is white, frothy, and two inches thick. Retention is above average while frothing up more. Nice, thick, dry lacing.

    Aroma is hops up front as was expected: citrus, spice, and floral notes. Citrus seems to dissipate quite quickly though. Sweet and bread malts make up the backbone.

    Taste has slight sweet and bitter bite to begin. Bitterness is throughout the drink. Grapefruit, orange, floral, and some spice have their seconds of fame. Bitterness isn't consuming but it is a major part of the beer.

    Light mouth feel, possibly thin. Carbonation is actually really light, letting the hops take control.

    This is big, bad hop giant. I guess you could say on the side of unbalanced but, even though I usually don't appreciate, it fits the beer well. Enjoy!
  • 825 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 21, 2011 at 21:03:48
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 21, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.70/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.47% Color: Pale Gold
  • =Pours a nice pale golden with a two inch frothy head.

    Aroma is a blast of clean citrus hops, with a spiciness as well as a bready scent. Very nice and refreshing scent.

    Taste is a surprising citrus bitter from start to finish with a hint of spice hitting me on the backend. The citrus bitter has a well balanced sweetness to it that reminds me of ruby red grape fruit. I am also getting a nice bready malt to compliment the citrus hops.

    Light body with light carbonation. Has a bit of a watery mouth feel.

    Overall this is a great beer! Well balanced and refreshing. A good hot summer day beer. I really liked the bitterness that you get from start to finish.
  • 673 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 21, 2011 at 20:58:29
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 21, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle