Log in Join now
Olde Gnarlywine - Lagunitas Brewing Company

Olde Gnarlywine

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.72/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.03 or 0.37%

Trend: 7.72/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Barleywine

ABV: 10.60%

IBU: 69

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

1,237 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.76/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.52% Color: Deep Amber
  • Pours clear with four inches of light tan foam. Retention is well above average leaving sticky, thick, ringed lacing.

    Aroma is dark fruits and toffee malt. Some resinous hops that leaves thoughts of possible citrus and/or pine hops past prime.

    Taste is lots of malt: toffee and butterscotch. Syrupy sweet with heat on the lips with a bit of bitterness in the finish but it is definitely over balanced by all the malts.

    Big, huge, chewy, thick body with low carbonation. Cloying, maybe, it is close as this beer fills the mouth and stays with you.

    A big beer that has all the right stuff but the ability to drink a bunch of this is limited by the huge amount of thick, chewy sweetness. I will have another, just not now. Enjoy!
  • 737 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 02, 2011 at 21:26:53
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 02, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.70/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.26% Color: Medium Amber
  • A: Very clear, nice amber color. Normal semi-thick foamy, tan head.

    S: Some toffee and faded hop citrus. Some biscuity malt on further examination.

    T: Chewy and butterscotchy, followed by am underlying snap of alcohol. There an upfront bitterness, that does not linger. It's not overly syrupy, but this ain't a thin beer.

    O: It's not a perfect brew to me, but that doesn't mean it's not likeable. It has total clarity and zero off-putting tastes, so it's well made. You do need to like toffee and butterscotch sweetness. In the right company of other brews this would make a fine addition to a tasting session. I'll always give Lagunitas a ton of respect. Not a bad brew at all.
  • 681 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 02, 2011 at 21:26:50
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 02, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 7.70/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.26% Color: Deep Amber
  • Pours a deep amber with a huge two inch head. Head is very light and fluffy with a yellow hint to it. Good retention with nice web like lacing.

    Aroma is rich. Lots of dark fruit, raisin and plum. I am also getting a hint of toffee and mild citrus hop.

    Taste follows the aroma pretty close. Lot of dark fruit raisin or plum with a hint of citrus hops. A very sweet beer with lots of carmel malts and toffee masking the bitterness of the hops. I am getting a bit of alcohol on the backend that is warming.

    Heavy body almost a syrup type feel in the mouth. Light Carbonation.

    Overall an interesting beer. It is good, but not something that I would have all the time. It is a bit heavy and the syrup texture in the mouth can get a bit over whelming which limits the drinkablity of this beer. Don't get me wrong I wouldn't turn one down if you offered me one!
  • 870 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 02, 2011 at 21:23:30
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 02, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle