Log in Join now
Salvation - Russian River Brewing Company

Salvation

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.12/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.36 or 4.43%

Trend: 8.12/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Belgian Dark Strong Ale

ABV: 9.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

363 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.48/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 4.43% Color: Amber Brown
  • A: Light tan medium full foam. Smallish bubbles that last for a low normal amount of time. Muddy ruby color of the brew is good, not great.

    S: Not in your face aroma, but I like the notes. Pitted dark fruit and a tad of anise, and some belgian confectionary sugars.

    T: Big carbonation, and very light sweetness from unknown pit fruits. Surprised by the high level of carbonation, but I was a fan. Lot's of things it's not: sour, funky, too spicy.

    O: Interestingly unique. I especially like the lively carbonation mingling with sophisticated euro fruits. More layers than some RR beers. Definately a beer everyone should have at least once.
  • 643 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 12, 2013 at 22:01:48
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 12, 2013
  • $0.00 for 375 ml bottle
1,204 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 7.76/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 4.43% Color: Ruby Brown
  • Pours with a huge amount of tan foam (enormous). Liquid is clear while retention is about average. Some spotty, spotted lacing. Isn't sticky.

    Aroma is spice, candy sugar, yeast, and some dark fruits. Alcohol twinges the nose hairs a bit.

    Taste follows the nose. Lots of dark candy sugar, spice, yeast, and loads of dark fruit.

    Medium body or better with a crisp carbonation.

    Maybe I don't appreciate this style all that much as I didn't think it was the greatest in the world as I usually think that Russian River beers are. I would have it again and maybe a more trained pallet would appreciate. Enjoy!
  • 615 characters
  • Reviewed: Sunday, June 19, 2011 at 17:50:04
  • Tasted: Sunday, June 19, 2011
  • $12.99 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Cost Breakdown
  • $12.99, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping