Log in Join now
Santa's Private Reserve - Rogue Ale Brewery

Santa's Private Reserve

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 5.50/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 2.5 or 45.45%

Trend: 5.50/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Amber Ale

ABV: 6.00%

IBU: 44

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 50%

1,216 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 45.45% Color: Dark Amber
  • Don't ask why I am drinking this now. I just am. Poured into a tulip glass (just bought, so I had to use it) clear with three inches of off-white, thicker foam. Good retention and lacing. The lacing was stacked in places.

    The aroma is that of an American IPA: sweet caramel malt and pine hops. Really nice and refreshing scent. Seems like I am ready for a good beer.

    Taste is just like the aroma: sweet malt up front, smooth middle, ending in pine hops with some mild bitterness.

    A tad under medium body with medium carbonation. A really nice combination on a really good beer.

    Originally I had one of these during the winter season and I don't think I was really impressed. Man, o man, was I wrong and it goes to show that first impressions aren't always the best. This is some good stuff that I could have several of and be very pleased. Enjoy!
  • 860 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, September 01, 2009 at 21:15:58
  • Tasted: Tuesday, September 01, 2009
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 3.00/10 have another
  • A: 3.0 | T: 3.0 | L: 3.0 | M: 3.0 | O: 3.0
  • sDev: 45.45% Color: Amber
  • IPA tasting. Seemed out of season. Not bad, but not even a good IPA.
  • 70 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, June 05, 2009 at 11:30:52
  • Tasted: Friday, June 05, 2009
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.50, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • Great Western Harrington, Klages, Munich & Hugh Baird Carastan 30-37 & 13-17, Crystal 70-80
Hops
  • Chinook, Centennial
Yeast
  • Rogue's Pacman Yeast