Log in Join now
Vuja De - Cigar City Brewing

Vuja De

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.49/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.51 or 6%

Trend: 8.49/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Wild Ale

ABV: 9.96%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.78/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 8.36% Color: Amber Brown
  • Received on trade, collector labeled 3-2011.

    A: Dirty amber brown, can't really see through. Soft, small bubble foam that remained a while.

    S: Got that funky wild smell, and then a unique fruitiness in the background. Scot thinks it reminds him of Lost Abbey-Red Poppy.

    T: Tart and sour, again with the melange of fruits and flowers. Really complicated. A tad weird in the bitterness. Alcohol burn isn't really there, but some alcohol taste.

    O: I respect the tartness and the mix of a ton of ingrediants. Not sure the taste works 100%, a few off flavors to me. But, I'd drink it wjen offered.
  • 597 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 21:34:11
  • Tasted: Thursday, May 10, 2012
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 5.30% Color: 26
  • Even tight head with solid cling to edge of glass. Belgian aroma and complicated spice profile. A lot going on.

    Look, dark brown- clearly brown. Possibly hazy, hard to tell because it's so dark brown. I think it looks great, but I'll mark that hazy as a minor minus.

    Incredibly spicy, but not intense. A lot, but not overwhelming. That Belgian "twang", it's hard to describe. I don't have a lot of experience with black currants, lemon leaves, hibiscus, and elderberry. I know I like it. It's pretty amazing.
  • 529 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 10, 2012 at 21:27:39
  • Tasted: Thursday, May 10, 2012
  • $0.00 for 750 ml bottle
1,223 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.76/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 3.18% Color: Mahogany
  • Pours beyond cloudy as not light penetrates the liquid. Huge, off-white foam fills half of the Cigar City snifter while lasting. Lacing begins quickly creating a thick, sticky residue that lasts the entire drink.

    Aroma is complex. Currants, cherries, and seemingly other dark fruits abound. Tart is there and prevalent, almost barn yard in quality. Sweetness, white grapes, and even apples come through.

    Taste is more complexity. There is a sweetness behind the tart that comes through. Currant and cherries have strong flavors, especially in the middle for the cherries, including some lemon citrus. The end has tart, sweetness that lingers a bit with a currant and/or earthiness.

    Medium body with a zestful carbonation that dries the palate. 10% alcohol really doesn't show through at all.

    A very interesting beer. Maybe a bit on the sweet side but that might be a low point. I only bought one bottle but could have definitely gone for another one or three. Enjoy!
  • 982 characters
  • Reviewed: Monday, July 11, 2011 at 12:09:32
  • Tasted: Monday, July 11, 2011
  • $9.99 for 750 ml bottle
Beer Notes
  • A beer of high gravity made for those of you who have enjoyed Florida-born, Belgian-influenced ales brewed with elderberry flowers, hibiscus flowers, locally foraged lemon leaves and black currants many, many times in the past. And who hasn't? This beer was designed and brewed in collaboration with our buddy and Beer Hero, Bob Sylvester of Saint Somewhere Brewing.
Cost Breakdown
  • $9.99, 1 serving(s), 750 ml bottles
Beer Swapping