Log in Join now
Rocky's Revenge - Tyranena Brewing Company

Rocky's Revenge

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.32/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.32 or 3.85%

Trend: 8.32/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Brown Ale

ABV: 6.00%

IBU: 30

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.64/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 3.85% Color: Ruby Brown
  • Pours a dark ruby brown color with a thin off white head. Very little retention of the head as it dissipated quickly leaving just a swirl of foam floating on top. Some spotty lacing.

    The aroma has a sweetness to it that is very pleasing. It just has a "good beer" smell. I am getting sweet malts with a milk chocolate and a hint of bourbon.

    The taste is very similar to the aroma with a sweet malt flavor blending into a creamy milk chocolate and finishing with a slight hop bitterness. A little bit of bourbon flavor finds itâ??s was into the mix of flavors as well. A very well balanced, clean tasting beer.

    Medium body with light to medium carbonation. A creamy smooth mouth feel.

    Overall this is a very nice beer that I would highly recommend. Very easy to drink with buttery smooth aromas and flavors. This beer just kind of melts in your mouth. A must try beer for your list!
  • Reviewed: Friday, February 03, 2012 at 20:19:28
  • Tasted: Friday, February 03, 2012
  • $1.79 for 12 oz. bottle
1,167 beers rated with a 7.80 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 3.85% Color: Dark Ruby Brown
  • Poured into my pint glass clear with a tall, off-white, thick foam. I had to wait for a second pouring to finish the bottle. Good retention with some lacing throughout.

    Aroma has some sweet malt with chocolate, vanilla, and, of course, some bourbon scents. A very enjoyable scent that makes one want to enjoy it many times.

    Oh, the flavor. Starts with the malt while the middle is full of chocolate creaminess with a finish of slight bourbon flavor and temporary bitterness from hops. Damn yummy!

    Medium to light carbonation with a full body. This is a complex beer that is very fulfilling at every stage: beginning, middle, and end. Crisp and refreshing. Easy to enjoy over and over again.

    This is only my second Tyranena beer. If the rest hold up as good as the first two I will be a frequent flier on the expressway to Lake Mills, WI. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, July 28, 2009 at 22:04:35
  • Tasted: Tuesday, July 28, 2009
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle