Log in Join now
Celebration Ale (2008) - Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.

Celebration Ale (2008)

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 6.25/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 1.62 or 25.97%

Trend: 6.25/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 6.80%

IBU: 62

Season: Winter Holidays

Have Another: 67%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 7.76/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 24.16% Color: Medium Amber
  • 2011 Celebration Ale

    This beer pours a medium amber color with a hint of copper and a robust white fluff head. Good retention on the head with lots of lacing.

    Aroma is a bit on the weak side for my liking, but I am getting a nice malt aroma with pine hop and a little bit of grapefruit hiding in the back.

    The weak aroma had me worried that the taste would be weak also, but the first sip proved that wrong. A nice big blast of citrus and pine hops blends with a nice sweet malty character. The citrus flavors remind me of grapefruit and creates a nice contrast to the pine hop. This beer finishes up with a hint of spice on the backend, followed by a dry slight bitterness. I am getting a bit of heat from the alcohol on the finish.

    A step up from having a light body with medium carbonation. The grapefruit flavors have a nice lasting quality in the aftertaste.

    A nice offering from Sierra Nevada. A well rounded IPA with a nice hop character that is well balanced with the sweet malt. Get this one fresh or you won't be tasting it at its best. Happy Holidays!
  • 1,076 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 22, 2011 at 22:34:05
  • Tasted: Thursday, December 22, 2011
  • $1.79 for 12 oz. bottle
1,202 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 12.00% Color: Dark Amber
  • Another out of place winter beer during the middle of summer. They were sitting down there in the fridge and I have been putting them off; it was time.

    Poured slightly cloudy with a huge, white, thick yet fluffy foam. Really good retention and lacing.

    Aroma is sweet caramel malt and a mellowed pine hops. Still a good scent, I am sure six months ago the pine would even be more intense.

    Pine hops is subdued as is the over all taste. Some sweet malt to begin, with a light pine hop at the end, and slight bitterness in the after taste.

    Low carbonation and slightly higher than low body. I sensed a slight funk to the beer. It might have caught some light rays.

    I would really like to try one of these this November and give this another chance. I think it could be an outstanding IPA. Enjoy!
  • 806 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, September 01, 2009 at 21:37:08
  • Tasted: Tuesday, September 01, 2009
  • $2.00 for 12 oz. bottle
363 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 4.00/10 have another
  • A: 4.0 | T: 4.0 | L: 4.0 | M: 4.0 | O: 4.0
  • sDev: 36.00% Color: Amber
  • High hop (IPA). Typical high hop flavor of S.N., they just balance it well.
  • 76 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, June 05, 2009 at 11:30:52
  • Tasted: Friday, June 05, 2009
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.90, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • Two-row Pale, English Caramel
Hops
  • Chinook, Cascade, Centennial
Yeast
  • Top-fermenting Ale Yeast